Can Knights register a double over Warriors?

Posted by:
Published: Friday, May 18, 2012, 16:52 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Knight Riders face Warriors on Saturday

Pune, May 18: Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium to host its last league match this season, as Pune Warriors take on Kolkata Knight Riders on Saturday.

Pune Warriors, having crashed out of IPL 5, play for pride while Kolkata Knight Riders would look to take advantage over Warriors and aim to finish at the top of the table.

Kolkata's 32-run win over Mumbai would boost the morale of the team, after their loss to Chennai, as they would eye another win to finish a double over Sourav Ganguly's side in IPL 5 having won the first match at Eden Gardens on May 5.

With a depleted bowling attack and an inconsistent batting line-up Pune Warriors have struggled to get past the hurdles in this edition of the tournament, as they would be playing for pride for one last time in IPL 5 and would look to win this though it seems to be a herculean task for the Warriors to defeat the Knights.

If Ganguly plays, it could be his last twenty20 match as a player as he has said that he will be associated with the team as a mentor and not as a player in the future editions of IPL.

Kolkata seem to be a balanced side, as they have a very good bowling attack, batting depth, but Yusuf Pathan is short off just one innings, after his run-a-ball 21 against Mumbai Indians on May 16. If he strikes form, it will boost Kolkata Knight Riders' batting and his bowling too can be utilised occasionally.

KKR start as favourites for tomorrow's clash against Pune Warriors, but the home team has nothing to lose and can also aim for a win against KKR.

With 19 points off 15 games, KKR have already qualified for the play-offs, would definitely aim to win against Warriors and remain at the top of the table.


Pune Warriors:
Sourav Ganguly (captain), Ashok Dinda, Callum Ferguson, Raiphi Gomez, Harpreet Singh, Dheeraj Jadhav, Kamran Khan, Murali Kartik, Harshad Khadiwale, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Nathan McCullum, Anustup Majumdar, Mithun Manhas, Angelo Mathews, Ashish Nehra, Manish Pandey, Jesse Ryder, Marlon Samuels, Rahul Sharma, Steven Smith, Tamim Iqbal, Alfonso Thomas, Robin Uthappa, Shrikant Wagh, Luke Wright.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Brendon McCullum (wicketkeeper), Manvinder Bisla (wicketkeeper), Jacques Kallis, Yusuf Pathan, Manoj Tiwary, Debabrata Das, Rajat Bhatia, Sunil Narine, Laxmipathy Balaji, Brett Lee, Eoin Morgan, Marchant de Lange, Ryan ten Doeschate, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohammad Shami Ahmed, Jaidev Unadkat, Iqbal Abdulla, Iresh Saxena, Sanju Samson, Sarabjit Singh Ladda, Chirag Jani.


Write Comments