IPL 5: Game 72: Rajasthan Vs Mumbai Highlights

Posted by:
Published: Sunday, May 20, 2012, 18:50 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

IPL 5: Game 72: RR Vs MI Highlights

Jaipur, May 20: Mumbai Indians came out with a dominant performance to thrash Rajasthan Royals by 10 wickets in the last league game of IPL 5 here at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium on Sunday night.

[Scorecard: RR Vs MI]

IPL 5: Points Table

Here are the highlights of Game 72.

# Mumbai promoted Dwayne Smith as opener and he was excellent with the bat

# Smith and Sachin Tendulkar took Mumbai to a 10-wicket victory, while chasing 163

# Mumbai finished the league in third position with 20 points. Rajasthan ended seventh with 14 points

# Tendulkar-Smith's unbroken 163-run opening partnership is the highest for the first wicket in IPL, surpassing 159 of Chennai Super Kings' Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay against Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011

# Mumbai won with 12 balls to spare

# Coincidentally, last year on same day, May 20, Rajasthan had beaten Mumbai by 10 wickets at the Wankhede Stadium

# Mumbai hit three sixes, all by Smith and 16 boundaries

# Mumbai scored 44/0 in first six overs of powerplay

# 100 for the visitors came in 11.2 overs

# Smith's 50 came off 34 balls

# Tendulkar reached his 50 in 44 deliveries

# Mumbai's 150 was achieved in 98 balls

# Rajasthan Royals captain Rahul Dravid won the toss and elected to bat first

# Shane Watson topscored for Rajasthan with 45 runs

# Dhawal Kulkarni, who was playing his first game this season, took three wickets for 18 runs in 4 overs

# Apart from Watson, there were useful contributions from Stuart Binny, Owais Shah and Ashok Menaria

# Rajasthan brought in Brad Hogg and Dishant Yagnik (wicketkeeper) for Johan Botha and Shreevats Goswami

# Rajasthan scored 31/2 in the first six overs of powerplay

# Rajasthan's fifty came off 49 balls

# The home team's 100 took 81 balls

# Rajasthan hit 6 sixes and 13 boundaries

# Lasith Malinga and Kieron Pollard took one wicket apiece

# Mumbai picked James Franklin for Herschelle Gibbs while they rested Munaf Patel for Kulkarni


Write Comments