Mumbai thrash Rajasthan by 10 wickets

Posted by:
Published: Sunday, May 20, 2012, 18:45 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai thrash Rajasthan by 10 wickets

Jaipur, May 20: Sachin Tendulkar, Dwayne Smith and Dhawal Kulkarni were the architects of Mumbai Indians' 10-wicket victory over Rajasthan Royals in Game 72 of IPL 5 here at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium on Sunday night.

[Scorecard: RR Vs MI]

IPL 5: Points Table

Tendulkar and Smith were not separated at the end of the match as they steered Mumbai to 163/0 in 18 overs. Smith was promoted to open the batting and it turned out to be a masterstroke.

Tendulkar-Smith partnership was the highest opening association in IPL history, beating Chennai Super Kings' openers Murali Vijay and Michael Hussey's 159 achieved last year against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Poor fielding did not help the home team, which lost the match for the first time after posting 160 or more runs.

Smith was the dominant partner, with a 58-ball 87 not out with 10 fours and 3 sixes. Tendulkar was undefeated on 58 off 51 balls with six boundaries.

Coincidentally, last year on this day, May 20, Rajasthan had beaten Mumbai by 10 wickets at the Wankhede Stadium.

Rajasthan Royals Innings Report

Shane Watson topscored with 45 as Rajasthan Royals made 162/6 in 20 overs against Mumbai Indians.

Dhawal Kulkarni was excellent for Mumbai with three wickets. This was his first game of the season. The right-arm paceman conceded just 18 runs in his four overs.

Rajasthan lost their opener Rahul Dravid and Ajinkya Rahane early. Then it was left to Watson to breathe some life into the innings. After the Australian right-hander's knock there were some useful contributions from Stuart Binny, Owais Shah and Ashok Menaria. 

Toss Report

Rajasthan Royals captain Rahul Dravid won the toss and elected to bat first against Mumbai Indians.

This is the last league game of IPL 5 and will only alter the third and fourth positions in the points table. Mumbai Indians have already qualified for the play-offs, but they can finish third with a victory today.

Mumbai have already qualified for the play-offs in third position after Deccan Chargers defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 9 runs earlier in the day. Mumbai will play defending champions Chennai Super Kings in Eliminator in Bangalore on May 23. Rajasthan are already out of IPL 5, and will play for pride today.

Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders are the top two teams and will contest Qualifier 1 on May 22 in Pune. The winner of Eliminator and loser of Qualifier 1 will face off on May 25 in Chennai to decide the other finalist. The winner of Qualifier 1 goes straight into the final on May 27 in Chennai.

Mumbai have given paceman Dhawal Kulkarni his first game of the season by resting Munaf Patel. James Franklin is also back in place of Herschelle Gibbs. Rajasthan are playing wicketkeeper Dishant Yagnik and Brad Hogg. Johan Botha and Shreevats Goswami are out.

Playing XIs

Rajasthan Royals: Rahul Dravid (captain), Stuart Binny, Ashok Chandila, Brad Hogg, Ashok Menaria, Ajinkya Rahane, Owais Shah, Shaun Tait, Siddharth Trivedi, Shane Watson, Dishant Yagnik (wicketkeeper).

Mumbai Indians: Harbhajan Singh (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Ambati Rayudu, Dhawal Kulkarni, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Rohit Sharma, Rudra Pratap Singh, James Franklin, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Dwayne Smith.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) and SS Shamsuddin (India)

Third Umpire: Bruce Oxenford (Australia)

Match Referee: Raju Mukherjee (India)


Write Comments