Dhoni dazzles as Chennai knock Mumbai out

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, May 23, 2012, 18:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chennai knock Mumbai out, to face Delhi

Bangalore, May 23: Captain MS Dhoni's breezy half century and an impressive all-round show by Dwayne Bravo took Chennai Super Kings to a 38-run victory and knocked Mumbai Indians out in the Eliminator of IPL 5 here at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Wednesday night.

[Scorecard: MI Vs CSK]

In pursuit of 188, Mumbai batsmen crumbled under pressure. Barring the opening few overs of domination, Mumbai struggled throughout losing wickets at regular intervals. They were kept to 149/9 in 20 overs. The defeat here ended Mumbai's winning streak in Bangalore.

Defending champions Chennai will now play Delhi Daredevils on May 25 in Chennai. The winner of this Qualifier 2 will face Kolkata Knight Riders on May 27, also in Chennai.

Dwayne Smith was the topscorer for Mumbai with 38. After a fine start of 47/1 in 5 overs, Mumbai lost their way. Sachin Tendulkar sacrificed his wicket after a mix-up with his partner Smith.

Dwayne Bravo and Albie Morkel took two wickets apiece while all bowlers on show were successful. Ben Hilfenhaus, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin and Shadab Jakati accounted for one dismissal each.

Chennai Super Kings Innings Report

Captain MS Dhoni's assault on Mumbai Indians' bowlers propelled Chennai Super Kings to 187/5 in 20 overs.

Dhoni chose to shine on the biggest night for his team. Having had a quiet IPL 5 so far, he blasted his way to his highest score (51 not out, 20 balls, 6x4, 2x6) of the tournament. Dwayne Bravo assisted Dhoni well with an equally attacking 14-ball 33 not out.

Chennai, from 47/2 in nine overs, powered their way to 140 in the next 11 overs.

Dhoni-Bravo association produced 73 runs in just 4.5 overs at 15.10 runs per over. One of Dhoni's sixes went out of the stadium and was measured at 112 metres, the biggest of IPL 5. The previous highest was Chris Gayle's 111-metre hit.

Dhoni was dominant at the crease that played out only one dot ball in his unbeaten stay. Even Lasith Malinga was not spared. The Sri Lanka went wicketless for 41 in 4 overs.

Earlier, Dhawal Kulkarni rocked Chennai early with a double strike. The right-arm paceman removed Murali Vijay and Suresh Raina in successive balls.

Kulkarni struck with his first ball off the second over, forcing Vijay to edge one to slip. Raina inside-edged the next ball onto the stumps as Chennai were reduced to 1/2. Kulkarni added one more scalp of Ravindra Jadeja. However, Kulkarni's figures were spoilt when he has smashed for 19 runs in the final over. He ended with 3/46 in four overs. From 2-0-13-2, Kulkarni gave away 33 in his next 12 balls for one wicket.

Toss Report

Mumbai Indians captain Harbhajan Singh won the toss and elected to field first against Chennai Super Kings.

Mumbai are playing with same side that beat Rajasthan Royals by 10 wickets in last league game. Chennai are without Srikkanth Anirudha and Yo Mahesh. Anirudha is not fit and Subramaniam Badrinath comes back along with Shadab Jakati.

In the league stage, Mumbai had got the better of Chennai on both occasions. In the inaugural match on April 4, they won by eight wickets in Chennai and later, on May 6, Dwayne Smith clinched a last-ball thriller at the Wankhede Stadium.

The loser of this game will be knocked out while the winner has to play another match to reach the final. The winner here will face Delhi Daredevils in Qualifier 2 on May 25 in Chennai.

Playing XIs

Mumbai Indians: Harbhajan Singh (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, James Franklin, Kieron Pollard, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Dhawal Kulkarni, Lasith Malinga, Ambati Rayudu, Rohit Sharma, Rudra Pratap Singh, Dwayne Smith.

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Michael Hussey, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Albie Morkel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ben Hilfenhaus, Shadab Jakati, Subramaniam Badrinath.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (New Zealand) and Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)

Third Umpire: Simon Taufel (Australia)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)


Write Comments