IPL 5: Qualifier 2: Delhi Vs Chennai Highlights

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, December 13, 2012, 12:03 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chennai, May 25: Murali Vijay's blazing century took Chennai Super Kings to the final of IPL 5 on Friday night. The defending champions crushed Delhi Daredevils by 86 runs in Qualifier 2 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

[Scorecard: DD vs CSK]

Here are the highlights of the match.

# Delhi were bowled out for 136 in 16.5 overs, chasing a mammoth 223. Chennai won by 86 runs. It was for the first time in the entire tournament that Delhi were all out

IPL 5: Qualifier 2: DD Vs CSK Highlights

# The margin of 86-run defeat is the worst in IPL 5

# Chennai have made it to their fourth final in five years. It is also a hat-trick of finals for Chennai. They won the title in 2010 and 2011. Now, they have a chance for a hat-trick

# In the inaugural year, Chennai were defeated by Rajasthan Royals in the final, 2008

# The only time Chennai missed out a final berth, was in 2009 when Royal Challengers Bangalore beat them in semi-finals. Deccan Chargers won the tournament, which was held in South Africa

# Surprisingly Sehwag did not open batting. It was Mahela Jayawardene and David Warner who faced the new ball

# Delhi scored 46/2 in first six over of powerplay

# Ravichandran Ashwin took three wickets

# Delhi were never in the hunt. They took 39 balls for the first fifty and the 100 came off 68 balls

# Opener Mahela Jayawardene topscored for the losers with 55

# Shadab Jakati took two wickets

# Delhi hit 7 sixes and 7 fours

# It turned out to be a lopsided Qualifier 2

# Delhi won the toss and sent Chennai to bat

# Murali Vijay blazed his way to a 58-ball 113 (15x4, 4x6). He was run out on the final ball of the innings

# Vijay was the Man-of-the-match

# Vijay's hundred came off 51 balls, fastest this season

# Now, there have been 6 individual centuries

# Ajinkya Rahane, Chris Gayle, Rohit Sharma, Kevin Pietersen and David Warner had scored tons this season

# Vijay is the only Indian batsman to score two IPL hundreds

# Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore) has more hundreds, with three. Warner (Delhi) and Kings XI Punjab"s Adam Gilchrist have also scored two IPL tons

# The Chennai opener"s previous ton, 127, was against Rajasthan Royals in 2010 at this very venue

# This was Vijay"s first score of more than a 50 and he chose the right game to come back to form

# Chennai made 52/0 in first six over of powerplay

# The home team"s 50 came fast, off 36 balls

# Chennai"s 100 was achieved in 10.5 overs. 150 came off 87 balls and 200 in 112 deliveries

# Varun Aaron got himself an unwanted record, conceding most runs in IPL history. He went for 63 off four overs. He took two wickets

# Delhi paid heavily for dropping their premier fast bowler Morne Morkel

# Delhi"s debutante offspinner Sunny Gupta was taken for 47 runs off 3 overs


Story first published:  Friday, May 25, 2012, 22:23 [IST]
Write Comments