IPL 5: Chennai Super Kings' road to the final

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, May 26, 2012, 11:28 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

IPL 5: Chennai's road to the final

Bangalore, May 26: One game stands between us and spotting the winner of IPL 5. It will be yet again, the consistent Chennai Super Kings versus first-time finalists Kolkata Knight Riders at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on Sunday night.

Here is a look at how the defending champions Chennai reached their third straight and overall fourth title round.

Chennai's Results in IPL 5

Game 1: Vs Mumbai Indians, April 4, Chennai

It was not the best of the starts for the reigning champions as they were handed a eight-wicket drubbing by Mumbai Indians at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

Game 2: Vs Deccan Chargers, April 7, Visakhapatnam

Chennai bounced back to winning ways against Deccan, courtesy a five-wicket haul by their new two-million dollar recruit Ravindra Jadeja

Game 3: Vs Delhi Daredevils, April 10, Delhi

Chennai could muster only 110/8 at Feroze Shah Kotla and were thumped by Delhi by eight wickets.

Game 4: Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, April 12, Chennai

Probably one of the best matches of IPL 5. Albie Morkel's out-of-the-world 7-ball 28 innings took Chennai to a last-ball victory when all hopes were lost.

Game 5: Vs Pune Warriors, April 14, Pune

Chennai ran into New Zealand opener Jesse Ryder, who gave his team victory at their new home ground, Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium. Unbeaten 73 from Ryder and a 22-ball 44 not out from Steve Smith stunned Chennai.

Game 6: Vs Pune Warriors, April 19, Chennai

Chennai exacted revenge against Pune with a 13-run win at home.

Game 7: Vs Rajasthan Royals, April 21, Chennai

Faf du Plessis' 73 helped Chennai to a 7-wicket triumph over the 2008 champions.

Game 8: Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, April 25, Bangalore

Most expected return-leg match against RCB was a damp squib. It was abandoned due to rain without a ball bowled.

Game 9: Vs Kings XI Punjab, April 28, Chennai

Punjab bowlers eked out a narrow 7-run win as Chennai failed to chase 157.

Game 10: Vs Kolkata Knight Riders, April 30, Chennai

After restricting Chennai to 139, KKR won convincingly, by five wickets.

Game 11: Vs Deccan Chargers, May 4, Chennai

Chennai managed to defend their total of 160 and succeeded by 10 runs.

Game 12: Vs Mumbai Indians, May 6, Mumbai

Dwayne Smith's sensational final three balls' assault on Ben Hilfenhaus took the game away from Chennai. Mumbai won in a last-ball thrilling finish.

Game 13: Vs Rajasthan Royals, May 10, Jaipur

Chennai kept Rajasthan to 126 and eased to four-wicket win.

Game 14: Vs Delhi Daredevils, May 12, Chennai

In a low-scorer, Chennai trounced Delhi by nine wickets.

Game 15: Vs Kolkata Knight Riders, May 14, Kolkata

Chenni won by five wickets with opener Michael Hussey shining with the willow.

Game 16: Vs Kings XI Punjab, May 17, Dharamsala

It was a must-win game for Chennai to keep their play-off hopes alive. But they could not win and their chances depended on other results. Those game went in their favour and Chennai sneaked into the top four over a better net run rate against RCB. Chennai finished fourth.

Eliminator: Vs Mumbai Indians, May 23, Bangalore

MS Dhoni led from the front with a hurricane half century, his first in the tournament. Mumbai had no answers to skipper Dhoni and his boys and surrendered while chasing 188.

Qualifier 2: Vs Delhi Daredevils, May 25, Chennai

Murali Vijay's brilliant 113 powered Chennai to 222 and Delhi wilted under a mountain of runs. Chennai stormed into the final by a commanding 86-run run victory.


Write Comments