IPL 5: Kolkata Knight Riders' road to the final

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, May 26, 2012, 12:34 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

IPL 5: Kolkata's road to the final

Bangalore, May 26: Two men have been behind Kolkata Knight Riders' journey to IPL 5 final. It is their captain Gautam Gambhir and offspinner Sunil Narine, who have shone brighter.

Ahead of the IPL 5 between KKR and Chennai Super Kings on Sunday night at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, we look at how KKR reached the final.

Kolkata's Results in IPL 5

Game 1: Vs Delhi Daredevils, April 5, Kolkata

Kolkata made a forgettable beginning. They were pushed aside by Delhi with a dominant display. KKR could manage only 97 runs and Delhi romped home by eight wickets.

Game 2: Vs Rajasthan Royals, April 8, Jaipur

KKR slumped to their second straight defeat in Jaipur. KKR failed to chase 165.

Game 3: Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, April 10, Bangalore

Laxmipathy Balaji destroyed Bangalore with a probing spell of bowling as KKR registered their first win of the season at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Game 4: Vs Rajasthan Royals, April 13, Kolkata

Shakib Al Hasan's fine bowling of three wickets took Kolkata to victory, season's first home win.

Game 5: Vs Kings XI Punjab, April 15, Kolkata

Captain Gambhir was livid after his team made a mess of a small chase. With only 135 to get, KKR made heavy weather of it, losing by two runs.

Game 6: Vs Kings XI Punjab, April 18, Mohali

This time, KKR did not fail in reaching yet another small target against same opposition. Gambhir took the responsibility on himself with an unbeaten half century. This began their sequence of unbeaten 7-match streak.

Game 7: Vs Deccan Chargers, April 22, Cuttack

It was another low-scoring game which was won by KKR.

Game 8: Vs Deccan Chargers, April 24, Kolkata

Rain played spoilsport as the match was abandoned.

Game 9: Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, April 28, Kolkata

Gambhir continued his rich vein of form with a crucial 93 to overcome RCB by 47 runs.

Game 10: Vs Chennai Super Kings, April 30, Chennai

In a last-over finish, KKR continued their winning run with a five-wicket success over the defending champions.

Game 11: Vs Pune Warriors, May 5, Kolkata

KKR successfully defended 150 for a seven-run win in a contest billed as Ganguly Vs KKR. Kolkata's favourite son Ganguly got a great response for his home fans but in the end, Pune's result and Dada's failure with the bat was a huge letdown. Sunil Narine was Man-of-the-match for figures of 1/13 in four overs with one maiden.

Game 12: Vs Delhi Daredevils, May 7, Delhi

Gambhir, the Delhi boy, faced his former team Delhi Daredevils and succeeded.

Game 13: Vs Mumbai Indians, May 12, Kolkata

KKR's seven-match undefeated run was snapped by the brilliance of Rohit Sharma. The talented youngster thrilled the Eden Gardens' crowd with a sensational hundred.

Game 14: Vs Chennai Super Kings, May 14, Kolkata

KKR tasted second defeat in a row as Chennai won by five wickets.

Game 15: Vs Mumbai Indians, May 16, Mumbai

Narine, once again weaved his magic with figures of 4/15 to stop Mumbai in their tracks while chasing 141.

Game 16: Vs Pune Warriors, May 19, Pune

Though KKR were restricted to 136, they came out with a top bowling performance to limit Pune to just 102 runs.

Qualifier 1: Vs Delhi Daredevils, May 22, Pune

This was the big clash between the table toppers. Yusuf Pathan, who was quiet in the league phase, chose to blasted his way to an unbeaten 40 that took KKR to 162. Delhi's mighty batting fell short by 18 runs and KKR were into their first IPL final.


Write Comments