Kolkata crowned IPL 5 champions

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, December 13, 2012, 12:28 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chennai, May 27: In a tense last-over finish, Kolkata Knight Riders won their maiden IPL title defeating Chennai Super Kings here on Sunday night. Manvinder Bisla's brilliant knock of 89 sealed Kolkata's victory in a thrilling finish with two balls to spare.

[Scorecard: CSK vs KKR]

Kolkata were faced with a big target of 191, and they came home losing five wickets. In the end, it was Bisla's innings that halted the two-time winners Chennai's charge. Chennai had won both IPL finals batting first. But this time they could not complete a hat-trick.

Kolkata crowned IPL 5 champions

Kolkata required 9 runs off the final over bowled by Dwayne Bravo. Manoj Tiwary and Shakib Al Hasan completed the victory in four balls.

Bisla, playing this final only because of an injury to Laxmipathy Balaji. The right-handed Bisla proved his selection ahead of New Zealander Brendon McCullum.

Kolkata were jolted early in the chase as Ben Hilfenhaus bowled skipper Gautam Gambhir in the first over.

Gambhir, team's highest run-getter in the tournament, was expected to lead the chase in the final but he faltered. It definitely provided a great opportunity for Bisla. And he responded brilliantly.

The move to promote Laxmi Ratan Shukla to number four position backfired. He departed for just three runs off six balls.

Moments later, Yusuf Pathan walked in and soon walked out, for mere one run as match headed towards a tense finish.

Sunil Narine was the "Golden Player of IPL 5" for his 24 wickets. Morne Morkel (Delhi Daredevils) took the Purple Cap award while Royal Challengers Bangalore's Chris Gayle was the Orang Cap recipient with 733 runs.

Kings XI Punjab's Mandeep Singh won the "Citi Rising Star" award. Punjab's David Hussey won the award for best catch of the tournament while Rajasthan Royals took Fairplay Award. Rajasthan captain Rahul Dravid received the award in Chennai.

Chennai Super Kings Innings Report

Two-time champions Chennai Super Kings have one hand on the IPL trophy after erecting a tall score of 190/3 in 20 overs against Kolkata Knight Riders. Highest successful chase for Kolkata this season, is 154, against Delhi Daredevils.

It was a case of left being right from the home team on a Super Sunday night at the MA Chidambaram Stadium. Left-handers Michael Hussey and Suresh Raina struck fine half centuries after captain MS Dhoni had won the toss and chose to bat first on the big day.

Murali Vijay too played his part at the top of the order with Hussey. The pair provided a rollicking start with 87 on the board in 10.2 overs. It was a great platform on which Chennai launched their middle and final overs' assaults.

Chennai had three good partnerships throughout their innings. First it was 87 off 10.2 overs (Hussey-Vijay), then 73 in 6.5 (Hussey-Raina) and 30 in 2.5 (MS Dhoni-Raina).

Hussey, who turned 37 today, showed no signs of advancing years as he ran briskly between the wickets, first in the company of Vijay and then Raina.

On Sunday, Raina became the only player in IPL to have scored 400 or more runs in all five editions. Raina's blitz of 38-ball 73 was the highlight of Chennai's innings. He was the out off the final ball of the innings.

Kolkata's best bowler in the tournament, Sunil Narine went wicketless in his four overs. He conceded 37 runs. Shakib Al Hasan, Jacques Kallis and Rajat Bhatia were the successful bowlers with one wicket each.

Toss Report

Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat first against Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 5 final here at the M Chidambaram Stadium on Sunday night. Chennai are playing in their fourth final and third straight in five editions of IPL. Kolkata are first-timers in the title clash.

Chennai have retained the same side that won the Qualifier 2 against Delhi Daredevils at this venue. Kolkata have made three changes, Laxmipathy Balaji is injured and misses out. Bree Lee is playing along with Manvinder Bisla and Manoj Tiwary. Brendon McCullum, Debabrata Das also sit out.

In a big match like this, it is always better to put the runs on the board, said Dhoni. Kolkata skipper Gautam Gambhir said he too would have liked to bat first.

Chennai have won their previous two games, Eliminator (against Mumbai Indians) and Qualifier 2 while batting first.

Playing XIs:

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkepeer), Michael Hussey, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Albie Morkel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ben Hilfenhaus, Shadab Jakati, Subramaniam Badrinath.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Manvinder Bisla (wicketkeeper), Jacques Kallis, Yusuf Pathan, Manoj Tiwary, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Rajat Bhatia, Sunil Narine, Brett Lee, Iqbal Abdulla, Shakib Al Hasan.

Umpires: Simon Taufel (Australia) and Billy Bowden (New Zealand)

Third Umpire: Billy Doctrove (West Indies)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)


Story first published:  Sunday, May 27, 2012, 19:37 [IST]
Write Comments