Despite WC win, no Arjuna award for Dhoni's men

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, June 7, 2012, 10:47 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

No Arjuna award for Indian cricketers

New Delhi, Jun 7: Indian cricketers despite their World Cup win last year, will not get nomination for the prestigious Arjuna award this season due to the communication gap between the sports ministry and the BCCI.

According to the sources, BCCI has not sent the names of candidates to the sports ministry and since the deadline for the same is also over, Indian cricketers after their sensational performance in the World Cup last year, especially Virat Kohli, who was one of the top run-scorers in ODI cricket might not get Arjuna awards this year.

"We haven't received the Arjuna nomination from the union sports ministry. I can tell you that this has happened for the first time that we haven't received the format which requires to be filled up and also duly signed by our nominee. When they haven't sent us an intimation, how do we send a name," BCCI's Chief Administrative Officer Ratnakar Shetty told PTI.

"The process of selecting a cricketer and getting all the formalities done takes some time and only the people in the sports ministry can tell as to why we didn't get the form," Shetty said.

"The question of sending form to BCCI doesn't arise as it is available on the internet. Any sports association can download it and fill it up. As of now, I am unable to provide you with further details as to why BCCI didn't send their nomination," Abhijit Rai, OSD to Sports Ministry said.

So far 44 cricketers have been awarded the prestigious Arjuna award for their contribution to sports which includes Sunil Gavaskar (1975), GR Vishwanath (1977-78), Kapil Dev (1979-80) , Syed Kirmani (1980-81), Mohinder Amarnath (1982), Ravi Shastri (1984), Sachin Tendulkar (1994), Sourav Ganguly (1997), Rahul Dravid (1998), VVS Laxman (2001), Virender Sehwag (2002), Gautam Gambhir (2009), Zaheer Khan (2011) and many others.


Write Comments