Ian Bell replaces Pietersen in ODI squad

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, June 12, 2012, 11:49 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bell recalled for ODI series against WI

Birmingham, Jun 12: England cricketer Ian Bell has been recalled for the upcoming three match one-day international series against West Indies starting on June 16, at Southampton.

Bell replaces Kevin Pietersen in the playing XI and will be opening the batting with Alastair Cook.

"He will open, he's got a lot of experience and he's in good form," said Andy Flower, the England coach, to Sky Sports.

"As one door closes, another opens and I hope this one opens for Ian Bell."

Kevin Pietersen, who announced his retirement from limited overs format will be missed, as England play West Indies in upcoming ODI series scheduled to begin from Saturday.

Bell, who has replaced Pietersen in the side, was the fourth highest run-scorer in the recently concluded three-Test series against West Indies with 222 runs which included three fifties off four innings.

Ian Bell is the only cricketer who was not a part of the ODI series against Pakistan in UAE early this year.

While Craig Kieswetter was named as Matt Prior's replacement, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel and Ravi Bopara were also named in the ODI squad.

England keen on defending their World T20 title, ensured that they have a relatively young outfit for the one-off T20 against West Indies after the three-match ODI series to be led by Stuart Broad.

The Chief selector of ECB, also expressed his confidence in the squad, as he said, "We are anticipating a very competitive NatWest Series against West Indies and are looking to continue to build on the progress we made in limited-overs cricket earlier this year against Pakistan," said Miller.

"Pietersen's recent decision to retire from ODI cricket means we now start looking at other options available to us as we prepare to defend our World Twenty20 title and look towards next year's Champions Trophy and the 2015 World Cup."

ODI squad: Alastair Cook (Captain), Ian Bell, Craig Kieswetter (wicket-keeper), Jonathan Trott, Ravi Bopara, Eoin Morgan, Jonathan Bairstow, Samit Patel, Tim Bresnan, Graeme Swann, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Jade Dernbach.

T20I squad: Stuart Broad (Captain), Jonathan Bairstow, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Craig Kieswetter (wicket-keeper), Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Graeme Swann.


Write Comments