Johnson and Permaul destroy India 'A'

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, December 13, 2012, 12:34 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kingstown, Jun 13: Delorn Johnson and Veerasammy Permaul destroyed India 'A' batting line-up as they gave West Indies 'A' a thumping 125-run win to square the three-match series 1-1 here on Tuesday. On the final day of the second unofficial Test, India 'A' batting collapsed to just 94 runs while chasing 220 for victory. Resuming from 57/4, they could add only 37 runs and were bowled out in 36.4 overs.

It was a case of left being right for the hosts at the Arnos Vale Ground. Left-arm paceman Johnson and left-arm spinner Permaul shared all 10 Indian wickets.

Johnson and Permaul destroy India 'A'

Johnson claimed six wickets for 34 runs while Permaul had figures of 4/22.

India's dismal batting performance cost them the match. They had faltered in the first innings too, scoring 202 runs.

India's hopes had rested on Rohit Sharma and Manoj Tiwary. They resumed batting on the final day but perished early. Tiwary was the topscorer for the team with 20 runs. The next best was from Rohit with 13 runs.

Permaul had a match haul of nine wickets. The 22-year-old from Guyana won the Man-of-the-match award.

The 23-year-old Johnson from Windward Islands registered his best first class bowling figures. His 6/34 is his top performance in only his ninth match. Johnson had taken two wickets in the first innings.

Captain Cheteshwar Pujara had scored an unbeaten 96 to steer India 'A' to an exciting two-wicket victory in the first unofficial four-day Test last Tuesday.

The third and final game of the series starts on June 16 in Gros Islet.

Brief Scores: West Indies 'A' 217 all out in 90 overs (Kraigg Brathwaite 66, Veerasammy Permaul 36, Nkrumah Bonner 25, Shami Ahmed 4/43, Ashok Dinda 2/22, Rohit Sharma 2/31) and 204 all out in 71.3 overs (Jonathan Carter 74, Donovan Pagon 67, Akshay Darekar 6/67, Rohit Sharma 2/47) beat India 'A' 202 all out in 79.2 overs (Cheteshwar Pujara 67, Rahul Sharma 30, Manoj Tiwary 23, Veerasammy Permaul 5/58, Delorn Johnson 2/28) and 94 in 36.4 overs (Manoj Tiwary 20, Rohit Sharma 13, Ashok Dinda 12, Delorn Johnson 6/34, Veerasammy Permaul 4/22).


Story first published:  Wednesday, June 13, 2012, 11:02 [IST]
Write Comments