India 'A' batsmen falter again

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, June 19, 2012, 10:11 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

India 'A' batsmen falter again

Gros Islet (St Lucia), Jun 19: India 'A' have a tough task to avoid a series defeat against West India 'A' in their third and final unofficial Test here at the Beausejour Cricket Stadium on Monday.

After having conceded a first innings lead of 106, India 'A' are tottering at 181 for seven with one day to go for the end of proceedings. With just 75 runs ahead, India 'A' will have to add few more runs and hope their bowlers come up with a brilliant performance. Otherwise the visitors will have to go back home with a series defeat.

Things could have been even worse for India 'A' if not for the batting of Manoj Tiwary and wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha.

At one stage, India 'A' were reeling at 35/4 in 10.5 overs. However, Tiwary (62) and Saha (48 batting) pull the team out of the woods with a 95-run partnership for the fifth wicket.

The hosts' new ball bowlers Delorn Johnson and Kevin McClean destroyed India 'A' batting line-up with three wickets apiece.

Tiwary took 119 balls for his 62 and hit one six and 10 boundaries. Saha has so far played 153 deliveries and scored six fours. Saha will be the key as he needs to add as many runs as possible with the remaining three wickets. At this stage, West Indies 'A' are favourites to claim victory.

The three-match series stands at 1-1. India 'A' won the first game before the hosts bounced back in the second.

Brief scores:

India 'A' 230 all out in 74 overs (Jalaj Saxena 61, Cheteshwar Pujara 33, Ajinkya Rahane 32, Manoj Tiwary 32, Wriddhiman Saha 27; Devendra Bishoo 3/40, Jonathan Carter 3/57) and 181 for seven in 67 overs (Abhinav Mukund 20, Manoj Tiwary 62, Wriddhiman Saha 48 batting, Akshay Darerkar 15, Shami Ahmed batting 16; Delorn Johnson 3/43, Kevin McClean 3/47) Vs West Indies 'A' 336 all out in 112 overs (Kieran Powell 139, Devon Thomas 50, Donovan Pagon 30, Kyle Corbin 26; Jalaj Saxena 3/55, Parvinder Awana 3/81, Shami Ahmed 2/75).


Write Comments