West Indies 'A' thrash India 'A' to win series 2-1

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, June 20, 2012, 11:10 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Gros Islet (St. Lucia), Jun 20: West Indies 'A' crushed India 'A' by 10 wickets in the third and final unofficial Test here to claim the series 2-1 on Tuesday at the Beausejour Stadium. For the hosts, it was paceman Kevin McClean who took five wickets for 57 runs to set up the victory on the final day.

West Indies 'A' win series

India 'A' won the first Test but slumped to two straight defeats. The visiting batsmen's failure to post big score was the main cause for losses. Young Indian batsmen were unable to take the team past the 250-run mark in four successive innings.

West Indies 'A' were handed a small target of 97 and they romped home in 17.5 overs without any hiccups. Kieran Powell, who struck a dogged century in the first innings, was again in the thick of things with a top score of 56 not out. His partner Kraigg Brathwaite was unbeaten on 36. The win came just before the lunch break.

Earlier, India 'A' had resumed from 181/7 in 67 overs. They lasted only seven overs to be bowled out for 202 in 74 overs. Robin Bist, who had injured his finger, did not bat.

Vice-captain Wriddhiman Saha, who re-started his innings from 48 on the final day, reached his half century and was soon dismissed for 52. The wicket-keeper faced 157 balls for his 52 with seven boundaries and one six.

Shami Ahmed scored a few boundaries to push the score past 200. He made 33 not out with four hits to the fence.

Brief scores: India 'A' 230 all out in 74 overs (Jalaj Saxena 61, Cheteshwar Pujara 33, Ajinkya Rahane 32, Manoj Tiwary 32, Wriddhiman Saha 27; Devendra Bishoo 3/40, Jonathan Carter 3/57) and 202 all out in 74 overs (Abhinav Mukund 20, Manoj Tiwary 62, Wriddhiman Saha 52, Akshay Darerkar 15, Shami Ahmed 33 not out; Delorn Johnson 3/54, Kevin McClean 5/57) lost to West Indies 'A' 336 all out in 112 overs (Kieran Powell 139, Devon Thomas 50, Donovan Pagon 30, Kyle Corbin 26; Jalaj Saxena 3/55, Parvinder Awana 3/81, Shami Ahmed 2/75) and 97/0 in 17.5 overs (Kieran Powell 56 not out, Kraigg Brathwaite 36 not out).


Write Comments