Australia unveils new contract list of 17 players

Posted by:
Published: Friday, June 22, 2012, 12:20 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australia unveils new contract list

Melbourne, Jun 22: Cricket Australia (CA) on Friday announced its list of 17 contracted players for the next 12 months and Test opener Ed Cowan, Twenty20 captain George Bailey, batsman Peter Forrest and bowler Clint McKay have failed to secure contracts.

Former Australian captain Ricky Ponting, who retired from One Day cricket earlier this year, is also in the list, which has been reduced from 25. Ponting, who has been an outstanding batsman for Australia, has struggled in the recent past. David Warner, who has been magnificent in all three formats, is also in the list.

Paceman Mitchell Johnson has also found a place along with Hussey brothers, Michael and David.

According to a press release by CA, the National Selection Panel (NSP) nominated the 17 players based on the form of the players over the past 12 months, their likelihood of Australian selection over the next 12 months taking into account the formats of cricket Australia plays, balance of the side and the need to ensure the future development of the Test and limited overs teams.

Also, the NSP said, weighting for Tests outweighs ODI, which outweighs T20. The weight of Tests was also strengthened following the Australian Team Performance Review outcomes.

Commenting on the contract list, National Selector John Inverarity said: "Following the recommendations of the Australian Team Performance Review and negotiations between CA and the ACA, the NSP today announces a Contract List of 17 players, a reduction in numbers of nearly one-third from the 25 of recent years."

He continued: "In addition, there are a number of very good and highly regarded players who the NSP have considerable faith in - and hopes for - who didn't, on this occasion, ‘make the cut' for the Contract List of 17. Ed Cowan, George Bailey, Peter Forrest, Clint McKay, Dan Christian and some others come readily to mind.

The expectation is that a handful of names will be added to the list as the season unfolds and upgrade points are accrued by those players representing Australia in the various formats of the game."

As announced under the new MOU agreement, the minimum CA retainer contract is now $230,000 and with a performance based model in place, the following match payments are applicable.

List of the 2012-13 Cricket Australia contracted players: Michael Clarke, Patrick Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Lyon, James Pattinson, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Shane Watson, David Warner.


Write Comments