West Indies 'A' edge India 'A' in last-over finish

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, June 28, 2012, 10:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

West Indies 'A' edge India 'A'

St. George's (Grenada), Jun 28: West Indies 'A' held their nerve to clinch a thrilling two-wicket victory over India 'A' in the first unofficial One Day International here at the National Cricket Stadium on Wednesday.

It was a low-scoring game in the three-match series and the hosts won in the final over of the contest. With this win, they have a 1-0 lead in the series.

India 'A' captain Cheteshwar Pujara won the toss and chose to bat. But their batsmen yet again were undone by the hosts' bowlers. They could muster 190 all out in 50 overs.

Opener Ajinkya Rahane was the main scorer for India 'A' with 58 runs. This was the lone half century of the match. Left-hander Shikhar Dhawan got 30 runs.

In the chase, West Indies 'A' were kept in check by India bowlers. But the unfinished ninth wicket partnership between Veerasammy Permaul and Nikita Miller took them home. The duo associated for 35 runs which proved to be the match-winning one. They won with three balls to spare.

Ashok Dinda took three wickets for 45 runs to keep India 'A' hopes alive. There was also a fine spell of bowling by Bhuvneshwar Kumar. He was excellent, conceding just 14 runs in seven overs for two scalps. Rohit Sharma grabbed two wickets with his off-spin.

Jonathan Carter was the top scorer in the match with 39 runs. Permaul was unbeaten on 22 to go with his four-wicket haul earlier. He was named Man-of-the-match.

The second match will be held at the same venue on June 29.

Brief Scores: India 'A' 190 all out in 50 overs (Ajinkya Rahane 58, Shikhar Dhawan 30, Manoj Tiwary 26, Veerasammy Permaul 4/33, Jason Holder 2/30, Jonathan Carter 2/41) lost to West Indies 'A' 193/8 in 49.3 overs (Jonathan Carter 39, Kirk Edwards 33, Kieran Powell 25, Assad Fudadin 26, Veerasammy Permaul 22 not out, Ashok Dinda 3/45, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2/14, Rohit Sharma 2/32).


Write Comments