Dinda, Darekar set up big win for India 'A'

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, June 30, 2012, 11:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dinda, Darekar set up India 'A' win

St. George's (Grenada), Jun 30: Left-arm spinner Askhay Darekar took four wickets as India 'A' registered a comfortable 108-run victory over West Indies 'A' in a low-scoring unofficial One Day International at the National Cricket Stadium here on Friday.

With this win, India 'A' have bounced back to level the three-match series 1-1.

It was yet again same story as India 'A' batsmen failed. They could only muster 184 for seven in 50 overs. But, the bowlers successfully defended this small target.

The hosts were bundled out for just 76 in 27.1 overs.

New ball bowler Ashok Dinda was brilliant. He took two wickets for just four runs in his five-over spell. In this, three were maidens. Dinda's opening bowling partner Bhuvneshwar Kumar too was very good. He also claimed two batsmen for 18 runs in seven overs. His spell had two maidens.

After Dinda and Kumar did the initial damage and reduced West Indies 'A' to a hopeless 18/4, Darekar arrived to continue the good work and India 'A' were the better side at the end of the game. It was their bowlers who won them the match.

Only Jason Mohammed offered some resistance and made 26. There were five ducks in the West Indies 'A' innings. Only three batsmen managed to get into double digits.

The 23-year-old Darekar bowled 6.1 overs and took four wickets. He conceded 17 runs.

Jalas Saxena, who scored a crucial 35 batting at seven and later took two wickets, was adjudged Man-of-the-match.
The final game of the series will be played on July 1, Sunday at the same venue. It will be an interesting contest as it is the decider.

Brief Scores: India 'A' 184/7 in 50 overs (Rohit Sharma 39, Jalaj Saxena 35, Wriddhiman Saha 21, Manoj Tiwary 20, Jason Holder 3/40) beat West Indies 'A' 76 all out in 27.1 overs (Jason Mohammed 26, Akshay Darekar 4/17, Ashok Dinda 2/4, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2/18, Jalaj Saxena 2/23)


Write Comments