Champions League in South Africa from Oct 9 to 28

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, July 3, 2012, 12:22 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Champions League from Oct 9 to 28

Bangalore, Jul 3: Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) tournament will be held in South Africa from October 9 to 28 and features 14 teams, it was announced by CLT20 Governing Council on Tuesday.

Johannesburg, Capetown, Centurion and Durban will the venues for the tournament. The tournament fixtures will be announced soon, the Governing Council said.

It will be the second time that South Africa will host the tournament, after a successful event in 2010 when Chennai Super Kings defeated the Warriors in the final at Wanderers in Johannesburg. The 2009 and 2011 editions of the tournament were played in India.

The qualifiers will feature six teams, Pakistan champions Sialkot Stallions, Auckland Aces (New Zealand), Trinidad and Tobago (West Indies), one Sri Lankan and two England teams. It will be for the first time that a Pakistan team will be playing in CLT20. The top two from qualifying will join the other eight teams.

Mumbai Indians are the reigning champions of the league after they won the title in 2011 under the captaincy of Harbhajan Singh.

Four Indian teams will feature in the tournament, all have got direct entry. Indian Premier League (IPL) season five's champions Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils and Mumbai are the four from India.

Australia will be represented by Sydney Sixes and Perth Scorchers. Titans and Highveld Lions will come from South Africa.

Titans, Stallions and Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers will be making their first appearance in the tournament.

Participating teams for CLT20

India: Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians

South Africa: Titans, Highveld Lions

Australia: Sydney Sixers, Perth Scorchers

West Indies: Trinidad and Tobago

New Zealand: Auckland Aces

Sri Lanka: Winner of the domestic T20 (to be concluded in August 2012)

England: Winner and runner-up of the domestic T20 (to be concluded in August 2012)

Pakistan: Sialkot Stallions

Previous CLT20 Champions

2009: NSW Blues

2010: Chennai Super Kings

2011: Mumbai Indians


Write Comments