Unmukt Chand to lead India in U-19 World Cup

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, July 4, 2012, 10:42 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chand to lead India in U-19 World Cup

Bangalore, Jul 4: Unmukt Chand will lead India at the ICC Under-19 World Cup to be held in Australia from August 11 to 26 this year.

Also read: Who is U Chand?

The Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) Junior Selection Committee met in Delhi on Tuesday and announced a 15-member squad, a BCCI media release said. Akshdeep Nath will be Chand's deputy in the tournament.

The 19-year-old Chand and his team-mates will be hoping to bring back the Cup which was last won by India in 2008 under Virat Kohli's captaincy.

There are two changes from the team which played in the recently concluded Under-19 Asia Cup in Kuala Lumpur, Sanju Samson Vishwanath and Ravikant Singh are dropped. Prashant Chopra has come in.

Chand hit two centuries in U-19 Asia Cup and India were joint winners of the tournament along with Pakistan after the final ended in a thrilling tie on July 1, Sunday.

India are in Group C with West Indies, Zimbabwe and Papua New Guinea. India open their campaign against the West Indies on August 12 in Townsville.

Townsville, Brisbane and the Sunshine Coast will be the three regions for the World Cup, with more than 400 cricketers from 16 nations converging on Australia's sunshine state.

It will be the second time the Under-19 World Cup is being held in Australia, after the inaugural event in 1988, and will showcase the world's best emerging players.

Australia are the reigning World Cup champions, after the Mitchell Marsh-led squad won the trophy at the last event in New Zealand in January 2010.

India squad: Unmukt Chand (captain, Delhi), Akshdeep Nath (Uttar Pradesh), Manan Vohra (Punjab), Akhil Herwadkar (Mumbai), Vijay Zol (Maharashtra), Sandipan Das (Bengal), Baba Aparajith (Tamil Nadu), Prashant Chopra (Himachal Pradesh), Sandeep Sharma (Punjab), Kamal Passi (Punjab), Rush Kalaria (Gujarat), Mohsin Sayyed (Maharashtra), Smit Patel (wicketkeeper, Gujarat), Harmeet Singh (Mumbai) and Vikas Mishra (Delhi).

Under 19 World Cup Groups

Group A: Australia, England, Nepal, Ireland

Group B: Pakistan, New Zealand, Scotland, Afghanistan

Group C: West Indies, India, Zimbabwe, Papua New Guinea

Group D: Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh, Namibia

India's League Fixtures

August 12: Vs West Indies, Tony Ireland Stadium, Townsville

August 14: Vs Zimbabwe, Tony Ireland Stadium, Townsville

August 16: Vs Papua New Guinea, Endeavour Park 1, Townsville


Write Comments