Australia's T20 BBL 2 to start on December 7

Posted by:
Published: Friday, July 6, 2012, 11:36 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australia's BBL 2 to start on December 7

Melbourne, Jul 6: Australia's Twenty20 Big Bash League this year, will be held from December 7 to January 19, it was announced here on Friday.

This year's BBL 2 is an increase in the total matches from 31 to 35 to give teams and their fans four home games each. It is set to be more exciting than last year.

The structure of the league remains the same however, with the top four teams at the end of the round matches not only qualifying for the Big Semi-finals but also getting the chance to play for a place in the elite Champions League Twenty20 tournament.

Despite adding another round of matches, the duration of the season is the same as BBL 01. It applies last year's winning formula, which featured record-busting TV ratings and more than 550,000 fans packing stadiums, to guarantee live action almost nightly during the December-January holiday period, a BBL media release said on Friday.

The new fixture also gives fans in Sydney and Melbourne two Derby matches each after huge interest saw a combined 70,000 fans attend the first inter-city clashes last season.

After the opening round, the eight BBL teams will criss-cross the country before the KFC T20 BBL 2 Big Final is played 41 days later on Saturday, January 19.

Also confirmed on Friday were the contracting rules that have been issued to teams ahead of the opening of the official Player Signing Window next Monday July 9 at 9am.

BBL Teams

Melbourne Renegades

Melbourne Stars

Sydney Sixers

Sydney Thunder

Brisbane Heat

Hobart Hurricanes

Perth Scorchers

Adelaide Strikers

Fixture Highlights

35 matches in 44 days, an increase of four from BBL|01

Each team plays eight matches, four home and four away

Additional Big Derby matches between Sydney and Melbourne teams

Fri Dec 7: Opening Matc


Write Comments