When Yuvraj Singh won his first World Cup

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, July 11, 2012, 15:16 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Jul 11: With less than a month remaining for the start of ICC Under-19 World Cup in Australia, we will look back at one of the editions where India took the trophy. This year the World Cup starts on August 7 and ends on August 26. In 2000, when the Under-19 World Cup was held in Sri Lanka, Yuvraj Singh was the star of the tournament. In a media release issued by International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday, they take a trip down memory lane.

When Yuvraj won his first World Cup

Here is how India won the World Cup in 2000 and some of the future stars emerged from then.

Under-19 World Cup, Sri Lanka (January 11 to 28, 2000)

Sri Lanka played host to the third edition of the tournament from January 11 to 28. The event featured the then nine Full Members and seven qualifiers - Americas Region, Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal and the Netherlands.

In the Super League final at the Sinhalese Sports Club, India defeated Sri Lanka by six wickets to win first of its two ICC U19 CWC titles. Sri Lanka, batting first, managed only 178 in 48.1 overs with Jehan Mubarak scoring 58 while Shalabh Srivastava finished as the pick of India bowlers with three for 33. India achieved victory for the loss of four wickets in 40.4 overs with man of the match Reetinder Sodhi scoring 39 not out, Niraj Patel 34 not out, Yuvraj Singh and Manish Sharma making 27 each and Mohammad Kaif 18.

In the Plate final at the Asgiriya Stadium in Kandy, South Africa defeated Bangladesh by 80 runs. Batting first, South Africa scored 213 in 49.4 overs with Graeme Smith top scoring with 51 and Jonathan Trott, who now represents England, contributing 41. In turn, Bangladesh was dismissed for 133 in 47.5 overs with Dewald Senekal taking three for 20 and Albie Morkel bagging two for 36.

Graeme Smith, who is the current South Africa Test captain, finished as the leading run-getter with 348 runs while Pakistan's Zahid Saeed was the most successful bowler with 15 wickets at an average of seven runs per wicket. India's Yuvraj Singh, however, won the player of the tournament award.

Yuvraj, in 2008 in Dubai, also won the ICC T20I Performance of the Year at the LG ICC Awards for his six sixes against Stuart Broad in an ICC World Twenty20 2007 match in Durban.

Apart from Smith, Michael Clarke, Shane Watson (both Australia), Rajin Saleh (Bangladesh), Tatenda Taibu, Hamilton Mazakadza (both Zimbabwe), Johan Botha (South Africa) and Brendan McCullum (New Zealand) progressed to captain their national sides.

While Trott won the ICC Cricketer of the Year Award at the LG ICC Awards in London in 2011 and McCullum won the ICC T20I Performance of the Year Award at the LG ICC Awards in Bengaluru in 2010, Ian Bell, who represented England in this tournament, won the ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year award at the LG ICC Awards in Mumbai in 2006.

Other players to make a name for themselves in international cricket include Nathan Hauritz, Ed Cowan, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh (all Australia), Ian Butler, Jamie How, Nathan McCullum (all New Zealand), Albie Morkel (South Africa), Jonathan Trott (who played for South Africa but now represents England), Imran Nazir, Imran Farhat, Taufeeq Umar, Faisal Iqbal, Yasir Arafat, Mohamamd Sami, Danish Kaneria (all Pakistan), Jehan Mubarak (Sri Lanka), Sewnarine Chattergoon, Narsingh Deonarine (all West Indies) and Sean Ervine, Greg Lamb (both Zimbabwe).


Write Comments