When Virat Kohli lifted the World Cup

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, July 12, 2012, 15:32 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

When Virat Kohli lifted the World Cup

Bangalore, Jul 12: In 2008, Virat Kohli took India to their second Under-19 World Cup victory at the Kinrara Academy Oval in Kuala Lumpur. With less than a month remaining for another edition of Under-19 World Cup in Australia (August 7 to 26), we look back at India's second triumph in this format.

A media release issued by International Cricket Council (ICC) looks back at all previous editions of Under-19 World Cup. Today, we will check out how Kohli led India to victory in Kuala Lumpur.

ICC Under-19 World Cup, Malaysia (February 17 to March 2, 2008)

Virat Kohli became the second India captain to lift the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup when his side defeated South Africa by 12 runs via the Duckworth/Lewis Method at the Kinrara Academy Oval ground in Kuala Lumpur when the event was staged from February 17 to March 2 in Malaysia.

India batted first and was dismissed for 159 in 45.4 overs but South Africa's target was revised to 116 runs in 25 over due to rain. However, apart from Reeza Hendricks (35) and Wayne Parnell (29), no South Africa batsman could face the India bowlers comfortably as it finished eight runs short of the target at 103 for eight. India fast bowler Ajitesh Argal for his figures of 5-2-7-2 was declared the player of the final.

In the Plate Championship final, West Indies defeated Nepal by seven wickets at the Bayuemas Oval in Kuala Lumpur.

Nepal was bowled out for a paltry 74 in 25.3 overs after man of the match Jason Dawes took four for 18 and Darren Bravo picked up three for nine. The West Indies achieved victory in 14.2 overs.

India's Tanmay Srivastava was the leading run-getter with 262 runs, followed by West Indies' Kieran Powell (253) and Virat Kohli (235). However, Tim Southee returned strongly after a disappointing 2006 campaign to capture 17 wickets at an average of 6.64 per wicket and won the player of the tournament award. Wayne Parnell of South Africa was, nevertheless, the leading wicket-taker in the series with 18 wickets at just over eight runs per wicket.

The tournament, apart from the 10 Full Members, also featured Bermuda, Ireland, Malaysia, Namibia, Nepal and Papua New Guinea.

Other prominent players from this event to go onto excel at the international level include Phillip Hughes, James Pattinson, Steven Smith (all Australia), Rubel Hossain (Bangladesh), Steven Finn (England), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Ravindra Jadeja (India) Junaid Khan, Umar Akmal (both Pakistan), Dinesh Chandimal, Thisara Perera (both Sri Lanka), Adrian Barath, Darren Bravo (both West Indies) and Kyle Jarvis (Zimbabwe).

Southee won the T20I Performance of the Year Award for his five for 18 against Pakistan on 26 December 2010 in Auckland while Finn won the ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year at the LG ICC Awards in London in 2011.


Write Comments