Australia name squads for Pakistan series in UAE

Posted by:
Published: Monday, July 16, 2012, 11:36 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australia name squads for UAE tour

Melbourne, Jul 16: Australia have rested Shane Watson and Ben Hilfenhaus for the One Day International series against Pakistan and have included uncapped all-rounder Glenn Maxwell for ODIs and Twenty20 Internationals to be played in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Cricket Australia National Selection Panel (NSP) on Monday announced two squads for three-match ODI and the same number of T20s.

The series will be held from August 28 to September 10 in Sharjah, Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

Michael Hussey, who missed the tour of England, has returned to both squads. Cameron White, who lost his T20 captaincy and also a spot in the team, has made a comeback as Australia focus on the preparations for ICC World Twenty20 2012 in Sri Lanka in September. Callum Ferguson has also been recalled. Batsman Peter Forrest has been dropped.

National Selector John Inverarity said: "The ODI squad has a strong development aspect to it. Shane Watson and Ben Hilfenhaus have not been included and Brett Lee has retired. This will provide development opportunities for others and allow Shane and Ben to complete a more thorough strength and conditioning program before embarking on a very demanding schedule."

"The team includes many talented young players; David Warner, Matthew Wade, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Steve Smith, and of particular interest Glenn Maxwell and Callum Ferguson," he added.

Talking about Maxwell, who featured in the Indian Premier League this season for Delhi Daredevils, Inverarity said: "Glenn Maxwell is a relatively inexperienced player who debuted for Victoria in 50-over and T20 cricket in the 2009-10 season and in the Bupa Sheffield Shield the following season. He's a versatile and lively off-spinning all-rounder and brilliant fieldsman that has caught the eye of the NSP. An injury last January somewhat halted his progress but in recent months he has impressed in the IPL and with Hampshire. Glenn will provide another spin bowler option on the slow, low, turning wickets in the UAE."

For ICC World T20, Australia will announced squad on August 17.

"The squad for the ICC World Twenty20 will be announced on 17 August and the squad for the three T20s against Pakistan in September provides a strong indicator to this tournament," Inverarity said.

Australia squads:

ODIs: Michael Clarke (captain), David Warner, George Bailey, Dan Christian, Xavier Doherty, Callum Ferguson, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade.

T20s: George Bailey (captain), Shane Watson, Dan Christian, Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Cameron White.

Australia Vs Pakistan Fixtures

Tue 28 Aug: 1st ODI, Sharjah

Fri 31 Aug: 2nd ODI, Abu Dhabi

Mon 3 Sep: 3rd ODI, Sharjah

Wed 5 Sep: 1st T20, Dubai

Fri 7 Sep: 2nd T20, Dubai

Mon 10 Sep: 3rd T20, Dubai


Write Comments