Under-19 World Cups produce future captains

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, July 16, 2012, 12:27 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

U-19 World Cups produce future captains

Bangalore, Jul 16: While a number of cricketers from the past ICC Under-19 World Cups have gone on to become record-holders and icons of the game, the event has produced no less than 46 players from the Full Member countries who have earned the distinction of captaining their countries in various international series and tournaments, an International Cricket Council (ICC) media release said.

Out of the 46 players, 26 have captained their countries in the Test arena, including 15 players who have led in all the three formats of the game.

The players who have captained their countries in all the three formats of the game include Michael Clarke (Australia), Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (all Bangladesh), Alastair Cook (England), Virender Sehwag (India), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Inzamam-ul-Haq, Shoaib Malik (both Pakistan), Graeme Smith (South Africa), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Sammy (all West Indies), and Brendan Taylor (Zimbabwe).

Apart from the above distinguished list, there are nine other icons who have led their countries in Tests and ODIs. These include Mashrafe Mortaza (Bangladesh), Michael Atherton, Nasser Hussain (both England), Lee Germon (New Zealand), Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka), Jimmy Adams, Brian Lara, Ridley Jacobs (West Indies) and Tatenda Taibu (Zimbabwe).

When it comes to the shorter versions of the game, Cameron White (Australia), Suresh Raina (India), Hashim Amla (South Africa), Denesh Ramdin (West Indies), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Prosper Utseya and Elton Chigumbra (both Zimbabwe) have earned the honour of skippering their sides in ODIs and T20Is.

Moreover, there is Shane Watson (Australia), Rajin Saleh (Bangladesh), Eoin Morgan (England), Chris Cairns (New Zealand), Abdul Razzaq (Pakistan), Sylvester Joseph (West Indies) and Hamilton Mazakadza (Zimbabwe) who have captained in ODIs only, while George Bailey (Australia), Graeme Swann (England) and Thilina Kandamby and Angelo Mathews (both Sri Lanka) have captained in T20Is only.

In addition to the above, there is a list of 15 cricketers who have captained their countries in the ICC U19 CWC as well as at the highest levels. These players include Mike Atherton, Brian Lara, Lee Germon, Sylvester Joseph, Michael Clarke, Salman Butt, Hashim Amla, Ross Taylor, Tatenda Taibu, Cameron White, Alastair Cook, Brendan Taylor, Kane Williamson, Denesh Ramdin and Mushfiqur Rahim.

England's Michael Atherton, Lee Germon of New Zealand and Brian Lara of the West Indies are the only three cricketers who have captained their countries at the ICC U19 CWC as well as the ICC Cricket World Cup.

The three players captained their countries in the inaugural ICC U19 event in Australia in 1988. Atherton and Germon returned to captain their sides in the ICC CWC 1996 in India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, whereas Lara completed the tally by leading West Indies in the ICC CWC 1999 and 2007 in England and the West Indies, respectively.

Germon, who is currently the Chief Executive of the Canterbury Cricket Association, reflecting on his experience of leading New Zealand at two different levels, said: "My leadership skills developed and improved with every leadership opportunity I received.

"The ICC U19 Cricket World Cup tested my captaincy in regard to getting the best out of players in my side with whom I had not played a lot of cricket. It also tested my ability to formulate a plan in response to the skills shown by some very good players at that age."

Ross Taylor, who captained New Zealand in the ICC U19 CWC 2000 and is the current national captain, said: "I think I learnt a lot from the 2000 event and I am now a totally different player and leader. You learn a lot from your mistakes and sure this is what I have done so far."

This year's Under-19 World Cup will be held in Australia from next month.


Story first published:  Monday, July 16, 2012, 12:24 [IST]
Write Comments