Strict ECB leave out Pietersen from T20 WC squad

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, July 19, 2012, 11:38 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pietersen left out of World T20 squad

London, Jul 19: Despite his efforts to make a comeback, England and Wales Cricket Board were firm on not entertaining Kevin Pietersen's return to limited overs, as he had already announced his retirement from ODIs and T20s last month, when the board picked the probables for the T20 World Cup to be held in Sri Lanka in September.

Pietersen, who won the man of the tournament award two years ago at the Carribean in the previous edition of ICC World T20, wanted to help England defend the title this time around as he was hoping to make a comeback having regretted his decision of quitting ODIs and T20s.

According to England and Wales Cricket Board's policy, a cricketer is not allowed to choose the formats of the game, more importantly, a polayer had to make himself available for both ODIs and T20s in case of limited overs internationals, else only Test Cricket.

The South African-born batsman was forced to quit limited overs due to this policy and also expressed his views on playing the T20 WC in Sri Lanka, but the board and coach ensured that such things were not entertained and Pietersen was not included in the T20 squad for the T20 World Cup.

Probables for T20 World Cup

England: Stuart Broad, (capt), James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Gareth Batty, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Scott Borthwick, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Alastair Cook, Steven Croft, Steven Davies (wkt), Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Craig Kieswetter (wkt), Michael Lumb, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Graham Onions, Samit Patel, Matt Prior (wkt), Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Graeme Swann, James Taylor, James Tredwell, Chris Woakes, Luke Wright


Story first published:  Thursday, July 19, 2012, 10:10 [IST]
Write Comments