CLT20: KKR, Delhi in Group A; CSK, MI in Group B

Posted by:
Updated: Friday, July 27, 2012, 13:14 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

CLT20: KKR, Delhi in same group

Bangalore, Jul 27: Indian Premier League's fifth edition champions Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils are drawn into same group of the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) this year, the CLT20 organisers announced on Friday.

The other two IPL teams, this year's finalists Chennai Super Kings and CLT20 title holders Mumbai Indians are in the other group.

Kolkata and Delhi are in Group A while Chennai and Mumbai are in Group B.

"We are delighted to announce the match-schedule of the Champions League Twenty20 2012. This is the second time the tournament will be played in South Africa, and we have no doubt that it will be as, if not more successful, than the 2010 edition. The tournament will feature the world's top players, and we can be assured of some exceptional cricket," N. Srinivasan, Chairman of the Champions League Twenty20 Governing Council, said.

There are 10 teams in the main draw. In Group A, Kolkata, Delhi, Titans (South Africa), Perth Scorchers (Australia) and Qualifier 1. In Group B, Mumbai, Chennai, Highveld Lions (South Africa), Sydney Sixers (Australia) and Qualifier 2.

Titans and Perth will kick off the main tournament on October 13. On the same day Kolkata and Delhi will also face off.

This year's CLT20, which will be held in South Africa, will feature 14 teams and will see 29 matches played across four venues in Cape Town, Centurion, Johannesburg and Durban.

This is the second time the event is being conducted in South Africa.

The final will be played on October 28 at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

The main matches will be preceded by a qualifying stage which will feature six teams. The qualifying matches will be held from October 9 to 11.

In qualifying phase, there are two groups. Group 1 will have a team from England, Sialkot Stallions and Auckland Aces. In Group 2, one more team from England, Trinidad and Tobago and a team from Sri Lanka.

Qualifying Stage

Pool 1: England 1 (winners of the ECB's domestic T20 championship), Sialkot Stallions (Pakistan) and Auckland Aces (New Zealand).

Pool 2: England 2 (runners-up in the ECB's domestic T20 championship), Trinidad and Tobago (West Indies) and the winners of Sri Lanka's domestic T20 championship.

Main Draw

Group A: Kolkata Knight Riders (India), Titans (South Africa), Perth Scorchers (Australia), Delhi Daredevils (India) and Qualifier 1.

Group B: Chennai Super Kings (India), Highveld Lions (South Africa), Sydney Sixers (Australia), Mumbai Indians (India) and Qualifier 2.

Group Stage

10 teams divided into 2 Groups of 5

Top 2 Teams from each Group advance to the Semi Finals

23 Matches in total (same as 2009 and 2010)

9 Double Headers

Semi Finals in Durban and Centurion

Final in Wanderers in Johannesburg

Previous Champions

2009 - NSW Blues

2010 - Chennai Super Kings

2011 - Mumbai Indians


Story first published:  Friday, July 27, 2012, 12:41 [IST]
Write Comments