England call up uncapped Taylor for second Test

Posted by:
Published: Monday, July 30, 2012, 12:20 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

England call up uncapped Taylor

London, Jul 30: England selectors on Sunday named a 13-man squad for the second Test match against South Africa commencing on Thursday, August 2 at Headingley Carnegie.

Selectors have made one change to the squad selected for the first Test with Nottinghamshire batsman James Taylor called up as Ravi Bopara is unavailable for selection for personal reasons, a media release from England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) said on Sunday.

Taylor has yet to play a Test match for England although the 22 year old received his first international cap in 2011 in a one day international against Ireland. Taylor made his England Lions debut in 2010 against Pakistan A.

South Africa won the first Test in the three match series by an innings and 12 runs.

National selector, Geoff Miller, said: "We were outplayed during the first Investec Test last week but it is important that this squad regroups and focuses on preparing for the second Test. This is a talented squad with plenty of international experience and they will be determined to improve on the performance during the first Test.

"We have made one change to the squad with James Taylor replacing Ravi Bopara who is unavailable for selection due to personal reasons. James has been part of the England Performance Programme for a number of years and has performed consistently for England Lions and now has an opportunity to step up and experience the Test environment.

"We have played a lot of good cricket over the last few years and it's important we remember that, learn from the mistakes that we made and retain the belief that we can level this series at Headingley."

England squad for second Test: Andrew Strauss (Captain), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Steven Finn, Graham Onions (Durham), Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior,
Graeme Swann, James Taylor, Jonathan Trott.


Write Comments