Daniel Vettori ruled out of India tour

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, August 7, 2012, 16:19 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Daniel Vettori ruled out of India tour

Bangalore, Aug 7: New Zealand were dealt a huge blow as their experienced spinner and former captain Daniel Vettori was ruled out of the two-Test series against India starting in Hyderabad later this month.

Vettori is not in the New Zealand squad, which was named on Tuesday and it will be a huge loss for the Kiwis who will tour India for two Tests and two Twenty20 Internationals.

Ross Taylor is the captain. The first Test will be played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad from August 23 while the second five-day game is in Bangalore from August 31 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

The left-arm spinner suffered a groin strain during his teams tour of the Caribbean and was ruled out of two Tests. He has not recovered from that injury.

The New Zealand selectors are hoping offspinner Jeetan Patel will fill the void.

All-rounder James Fraklin comes in for batsman Dean Brownlie, the only change from the squad which lost 0-2 to West Indies recently.

National Selection Manager, Kim Littlejohn said Vettori's absence has created an opportunity for Patel.

"The tour of India will be a great challenge and experience for this squad. Unfortunately Daniel Vettori won't recover in time for the Test series but his injury has created and opportunity for Jeetan Patel to come back into the side. Jeetan has been in great from for Warwickshire and deserves his opportunity," Littlejohn said on New Zealand Cricket's official website.

"James Franklin has been brought into the squad to bolster the batting. He brings a lot of experience and knowledge of playing in Indian conditions which will be invaluable. Dean Brownlie misses out on selection. We continue to see him as player of the future but at this stage we feel he needs to works on parts of his game. There's no doubt he will work hard to regain selection," he added.

New Zealand Squad: Ross Taylor (captain), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Daniel Flynn, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Tarun Nethula, Jeetan Patel, Tim Southee, Kruger van Wyk, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson.


Story first published:  Tuesday, August 7, 2012, 13:18 [IST]
Write Comments