T20I Rankings: South Africa top; India fourth

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, August 9, 2012, 11:15 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

T20I Rankings: S Africa top; India 4th

Bangalore, Aug 9: South Africa have replaced England as the number-one ranked side on the ICC T20I Championship table after the annual update, an ICC media release said. India are fourth.

However, the number-one T20 ranking, like in the current Test and forthcoming ODI series, will be up for grabs when the reigning ICC World Twenty20 champions England and South Africa go head to head in a three-T20I series starting on September 8 in Chester-le-Street.

Currently, both the sides are separated by one ratings point.

Australia have slipped from sixth position to ninth, as its excellent results in early 2010 have now been removed, while West Indies has moved up from eighth to fifth after benefiting from the exclusion of its results from early 2010.

Only 11 teams are now ranked on the T20I table. The remaining five sides - Afghanistan, Canada, Kenya, Netherlands and Scotland - have played fewer than eight Twenty20 Internationals since August 2010. These sides will rejoin the table once they have played eight T20 Internationals.

ICC T20I Championship (as of 8 August, after the annual update with rating points +/-)

1. South Africa 130 (+8)

2. England 129 (-1)

3. Sri Lanka 119 (+9)

4. India 111 (+1)

5. West Indies 111 (+8)

6. Pakistan 109 (+1)

7. New Zealand 101 (-4)

8. Bangladesh 95 (+5)

9. Australia 93 (-14)

10. Ireland 88 (+5)

11. Zimbabwe 47 (-4)

Not ranked as fewer than eight T20I matches played since August 2010

Afghanistan 92 (+9)

Netherlands 73 (-1)

Scotland 67 (+12)

Canada 11 (-5)

Kenya 2 (-11)

(Rankings table devised, developed and maintained by David Kendix, member of ICC Cricket Committee)

*Explanatory note: Every year, the tables are updated in order to keep them current and relevant, so changes occur as old results are removed from the reckoning.

This latest table reflects all T20I matches completed since August 2010 with results from the previous year having dropped off. Over the next 12 months, new results will be added to the table as they happen so that by July 2013 there will be three years of results taken into consideration.

This process is repeated each year, with the oldest of the three years of results removed to be replaced gradually with results of matches played over the following 12 months. This means that once a year the teams' ratings can change overnight without any new T20I matches being played.


Write Comments