Yuvraj Singh is back for World Twenty20

Posted by:
Updated: Friday, August 10, 2012, 18:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai, Aug 10: All-rounder Yuvraj Singh has made a comeback to the Indian team as the BCCI selectors, on Friday, named him in the 15-member squad for the next month's ICC World Twenty20 2012 in Sri Lanka. Harbhajan Singh also returns to India T20 squad along with Lakshmipathy Balaji and Piyush Chawla.

India-New Zealand Test and T20 series schedule

World T20 schedule

Yuvraj's last match for India was a Test against West Indies in November, 2011. Since then he has been out of competitive cricket and last week played a practice game with the India Under-19 World Cup players in Bangalore. The 30-year-old left-hander underwent chemotherapy in the US, for a rare germ-cell cancer.

Yuvraj Singh is back for World Twenty20

Yuvraj has been training at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bangalore. "Yuvraj is crucial for Indian team in the T20 World Cup," chairman of selection committee, Kris Srikkanth said.

The same T20 squad will play against New Zealand in a two-match series after the Test rubber against the Kiwis. The two T20Is against New Zealand are on September 8 (Visakhapatnam) and September 11 (Chennai).

The World T20 squad also sees the return of legspinner Chawla, who last played for India in 2011 World Cup and experienced offspinner Harbhajan Singh. Balaji, who played an important role in taking Kolkata Knight Riders to the IPL 5 title, has been rewarded.

There was no place for paceman Vinay Kumar, who was part of the Indian team in Asia Cup. Vinay had to be withdrawn from Sri Lanka tour after sustaining a hamstring injury. However, he is fully fit now and has already played a four-day game in Bangalore.

The selectors also announced the squad for the two-Test home series against New Zealand. Suresh Raina has been recalled to the Test team. Cheteshwar Pujara also makes a comeback.

Ajinkya Rahane is also included in the 15-man Test line-up. Paceman Ishant Sharma too finds a place after battling injury worries.

With the retirement of Rahul Dravid from the Test arena, the onus will be on young batsmen to grab their chance.

India-New Zealand first Test will begin in Hyderabad's Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on August 23. The second Test will be played at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore from August 31.

World T20 will be held in Sri Lanka from September 18 to October 7. India won the inaugural edition in 2007 in South Africa under Dhoni.

Indian Test squad for New Zealand series: MS Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, R. Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Umesh Yadav, Ajinkya Rahane, Piyush Chawla, Ishant Sharma, Suresh Raina

India squad for two T20Is Vs New Zealand and ICC World Twenty20: MS Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir (vice-captain), Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Pathan, R Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, L Balaji, Ashok Dinda, Rohit Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Manoj Tiwary.


Story first published:  Friday, August 10, 2012, 13:31 [IST]
Write Comments