Brad Hogg in Australia squad for World T20

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, August 16, 2012, 11:55 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hogg in Australia squad for World T20

Bangalore, Aug 16: Australia have named their 15-man squad for the ICC World Twenty20 2012 to be held in Sri Lanka from September 18. Veteran spinner Brad Hogg is included while there is no place for all-rounder Steve Smith.

George Bailey remains Australia's T20 captain and Shane Watson will be his deputy. All-rounder Glenn Maxwell has also been picked.

The same squad will play against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

Commenting on the men's 15-player squad, National Selector John Inverarity said in a Cricket Australia media release: "The ICC World Twenty20 15-man squad is the same as the T20 squad scheduled to play against Pakistan in the UAE in early September.

"A real strength of the squad is its flexibility and versatility. It's a well-balanced side that will provide the captain, George Bailey, with plenty of options in both the batting line-up and bowling possibilities."

He continued: "The seam bowling has depth with Clint McKay, Pat Cummins, Ben Hilfenhaus and Mitch Starc along with all-rounders Shane Watson and Dan Christian, and to a lesser extent Michael Hussey, who could be useful for an occasional over or two.

"Similarly there is depth in the spin bowling department with Brad Hogg, Xavier Doherty and also all-rounders Glenn Maxwell and David Hussey. You can then add to that the possibility of the wrist spin of Cameron White and David Warner."

Talking about Australia's batting, the chief selector said: "There is a great deal of explosive strike power in the batting line-up that could see Matthew Wade at six, Cameron White at seven and either Dan Christian or Glenn Maxwell at eight. There is also a good blend of left and right handers with David Warner, Michael Hussey and Wade likely to be in the top seven.

"The ICC World Twenty20 promises to be a very exciting event as T20 cricket is so unpredictable. Our squad will be well prepared and we look forward to them playing some outstanding cricket and acquitting themselves especially well."

Australia's campaign will officially commence on Wednesday September 19 in Colombo against Ireland.

Australian T20 squad: George Bailey (captain), Shane Watson (vice-captain), Dan Christian, Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Cameron White.


Write Comments