Cricket Australia opts for smaller board

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, September 4, 2012, 15:29 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Cricket Australia opts for smaller board

Bangalore, Aug 17: Cricket Australia (CA) has gone in for a major overhaul of its Board for the first time in 107 years where they have opted for a smaller team of six directors replacing the existing 14.

"Cricket Australia is to seek three independent Directors following an historic CA Extraordinary General Meeting decision today to modernise Australian cricket's governance. The EGM voted to replace CA's historic, state-based Board of 14 Directors with a new, nine-person Board with three independent Directors and one each appointed by the six State Associations," a CA media release said on Friday

The six State Association appointed Directors will be: Wally Edwards, John Bannon, Earl Eddings, Dr Harrry Harinath, Michael Kasprowicz and Tony Harrison.

The nine Directors making up the new Board will take up their new roles effective from CA's 25 October Annual General Meeting.

Chairman Wally Edwards said today's decision was the biggest change in Australian cricket governance since CA was founded in 1905 by NSW, Victoria and SA as the Australian Board of Control for International Cricket. Queensland, WA and Tasmania joined progressively in later years, with less votes each than the founding members.

"Australian cricket needs a governance that the modern sport deserves as a highly-professional, major player in the global sport and entertainment arena," Edwards said.

"The outgoing governance served the sport well, as our long-term record in community participation, on-field international performance, and winning a place as a part of our national identity over the decades shows".

"But we are no longer a group of stand-alone states seeking to collectively organise international cricket matches - we are increasingly thinking and acting as one unified national sport facing increasing competition for the public's attention and support".

The changes CA's EGM approved today follow an Australian cricket governance review by David Crawford and Colin Carter that recommended a smaller, independent board.

Next steps will be for a CA nominations committee consisting of Wally Edwards, Cricket Victoria Chairman Geoff Tamblyn, South Australian Cricket Association President Ian McLachlan and eminent business leaders Don Argus and Tony Hodgson to identify and recommend three independent directors to join the CA Board.

The new Board will meet for the first time on 26 October, the day after CA's AGM. Each Director will have one vote except in the case of a deadlock in which case the CA Chairman will have a casting vote.


Read more about: cricket australia, australia
Story first published:  Friday, August 17, 2012, 12:17 [IST]
Write Comments