Day 3: Play called off due to rain; Kiwis struggle

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, August 25, 2012, 15:38 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad, Aug 25: Having enforced follow-on, India were back with a bang having dismissed Martin Guptill for 16 in the second innings as New Zealand were at 41/1, trailing by 238 runs with 9 wickets in hand against India in the first Test at Hyderabad on Saturday.

Day 3: Play called off due to rain

Scorecard, Ball-by-ball

Highlights: 1st Test: India Vs NZ, Day 3

With a slight drizzle in the morning and more expected during the course of the day, play was delayed by an hour as it started at 10:30 AM (IST).

But the delayed start never played a role as India looked to taper the tail after having reduced them to 106/5 at stumps on Day 2.

With Ashwin, Ojha, Yadav all doing their bit, New Zealand were bundled out for 159. If that was the highlight of the Day, Ashwin claimed his third five-wicket haul, as he finished the innings with figures of 6/31.

Apart from Ashwin, Ojha also played a vital role as he picked three wickets for 44, which showed how the Indian spin-duo dominated the bowling attack, claiming 9 wickets as Yadav was the only pacer to have got a wicket on Day three.

Trailing by 238 runs, New Zealand would be relieved with the outcome as they had to bat two sessions if there was no rain on Day three. Though the rain gods blessed them having halted play for more than 2 hours, umpires were forced to call off play since the outfield was flooded with water.

With 9 wickets in hand, new Zealand look to play out the sessions on Day four, as India aim for a kill, as they have 6 sessions to claim the remaining wickets, which seems to be an achievable task.

Though there are chances of rain playing spoilsport on Day four as well, India might look to finish it off if they get to play two full sessions.

Playing XIs

India: MS Dhoni (Captain, Wicket-keeper), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Cheteshwar Pujara, Umesh Yadav, Zaheer Khan, R Ashwin, P Ojha

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (Captain), Brendon McCullum, Kane Williamson, Mark Guptill, K van Wyk (wicket-keeper), Jeetan Patel, T Boult, Chris Martin, Doug Bracewell, BJ Watling, D Flynn

Umpires: Steve Davis (Australia) and Ian Gould (England)

Third Umpire: Vineet Kulkarni (India)

Match referee: Chris Broad (England)


Story first published:  Saturday, August 25, 2012, 9:48 [IST]
Write Comments