Here's how India won Under-19 World Cup 2012

Written by: Aprameya .C
Updated: Sunday, August 26, 2012, 17:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Aug 26: India won their third title at the Under-19 World Cup when captain Unmukt Chand took the team to victory in Townsville over Australia in this year's final.

Chand's unbeaten 111 off 130 balls with seven boundaries and six sixes was the cornerstone of India's chase. His superb ton helped India to win the trophy.

Here's how India won Under-19 World Cup

India had won the title in 2000 under Mohammad Kaif and later in 2008 under the leadership of Virat Kohli.

This year, India started off with a shock defeat to West Indies in the group stages. They were in Group C. But they recovered to thrash Zimbabwe and Papua New Guinea to set up a quarter-final date with arch rivals Pakistan.

In the clash against Pakistan, it was a thrilling one-wicket victory for Chand and his boys. The semi-final against New Zealand too was a close affair as they managed to gain entry into the final with a nine-run win.

Here is how India won the Under-19 World Cup 2012.

Match 1 (Group Stage) August 12

West Indies beat India by six wickets at Tony Ireland Stadium, Townsville

India 166/8 in 50 overs (Smit Patel 51, Vijay Zol 26, Unmukt Chand 22; Ronsford Beaton 3-33, Jerome Jones 2-23, Kyle Mayers 2-35)

West Indies 167/6 in 47.1 overs (Anthony Alleyne 52, Kyle Mayers 43, John Campbell 36; Harmeet Singh 3-35, Sandeep Sharma 2-27

Man of the Match: Kyle Mayers (West Indies)

Match 2 (Group Stage) August 14

India beat Zimbabwe by 63 runs, Tony Ireland Stadium, Townsville

India 261 for six in 50 overs (Unmukt Chand 78, Prashant Chopta 57, Hanuman Vihari 31; Campbell Light 3-22)

Zimbabwe 198 all out in 44.1 overs (Malcolm Lake 118; Kamal Passi 6-23)

Man of the Match: Kamal Passi (India)

Match 3 (Group Stage) August 16

India beat PNG by 107 runs, Endeavour Park 1, Townsville

India 204 all out in 45.1 overs (Vijay Zol 72, Prashant Chopra 58, Smit Patel 30; Chand Soper 5-32, Toua Tom 2-26)

PNG 97 all out in 31.5 overs (Charles Amini 28, Chris Kent 27; Ravikant Singh 5-21, Baba Aparajith 2-16, Kamal Passi 2-18)

Man of the Match: Ravikant Singh (India)

Match 4 (Quarter-finals) August 20

India beat Pakistan by one wicket, Tony Ireland Stadium, Townsville

Pakistan 136 all out in 45.1 overs (Babar Azam 50, Ehsan Adil 35; Sandeep Sharma 3-24, Ravikant Singh 3-43)

India 137/9 in 48 overs (Baba Aparajith 51, Vijay Zol 36; Zia-ul-Haq 3-23, Azizullah 3-30, Ehsan Adil 2-25)

Man of the Match: Baba Aparajith (India)

Match 5 (Semi-finals) August 23

India beat New Zealand by nine runs at Tony Ireland Stadium, Townsville

India 209/9 in 50 overs (Prashant Chopra 52, Baba Aparajith 44, Unmukt Chand 31; Ben Horne 3-28, Matthew Quinn 2-36)

New Zealand 200/9 in 50 overs (Cam Fletcher 53, Joe Carter 30; Harmeet Singh 2-30, Sandeep Sharma 2-36, Ravikant Singh 2-48)

Man of the Match: Baba Aparajith (India)

Match 6 (Final) August 26

India beat Australia by six wickets at Tony Ireland Stadium, Townsville

Australia 225/8 in 50 overs (William Bosisto 87 not out, Ashton Turner 43, Travis Head 37, Sandeep Sharma 4/54)

India 227/4 in 47.4 overs (Unmukt Chand 111 not out, Smit Patel 62 not out, Baba Aparajith 33)

Man of the Match: Unmukt Chand (India)


Story first published:  Sunday, August 26, 2012, 16:21 [IST]
Write Comments