Chand ton helps India win ICC U19 World Cup

Posted by:
Updated: Sunday, August 26, 2012, 19:32 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Townsville, Aug 26: Unmukt Chand's men scripted an emphatic win asthey defeated hosts Australia in the U-19 World Cup final by 6 wickets, to lift the trophy for the third time.

Also read: Profiles of World Cup winning players; Who is Chand?; How India won the trophy

Skipper Unmukt Chand's ton and Sandeep Sharma's 4/54 helped India win U-19 World Cup title for the third time after 2000 and 2008.

India win ICC U19 World Cup

Chand, who opened the innings for India with Prashant Chopra, went on to play a fabulous innings, as he remained unbeaten on 111, which included 7 boundaries and 6 sixes.

Alongwith Samit Patel, Chand added 130 runs for the 5th wicket which helped India defeat Australia by 6 wickets in the U-19 World Cup final.

Looks like Unmukt Chand was waiting for the final,as he had bnot played well throughout the tournament, and a big knock was due anytime. With the same coming during the final is indeed memorable.

With a target of 226 to win, India lost Chopra (0), Zol (1) early. While Aparajith added 33 runs to his credit, it all depended on Chand and Samit Patel, as they both played a vital role in guiding India safe as things were becoming difficult, but the two youngsters played with ease, making things look simple.

Australia's Innings report:

Australia had set a target of 226 for India to win the U-19 World Cup title this year.

Having won the toss and elected to field, India restricted Australia to 225/8 as Sandeep Sharma gave India a great start as he dismissed opener Jimmy Pierson in the fourth ball of the innings.

Australia, lost five wickets for 103 and were tottering at 38/4 after 11.2 overs as Travis Head (37), William Bossisto (87*) added 65 runs for the 5th wicket while Ashton Turner joined Borristo to add 93 runs for the 6th wicket, the highest partnership of the innings.

Sandeep was at his best, as he claimed 4/54 in 10 overs, while Ravikant and Aparajith also grabbed a wicket each to restrict Aussies to 225/8 in 50 overs.

Scores in brief

Australia 225/8 in 50 overs (William Bosisto 87 not out, Ashton Turner 43, Travis Head 37, Sandeep Sharma 4/54)

India 227/4 in 47.4 overs (Unmukt Chand 111 not out, Smit Patel 62 not out, Baba Aparajith 33)

Man of the Match: Unmukt Chand (India)

Man of the tournament: William Bosisto (Australia)


Story first published:  Sunday, August 26, 2012, 12:33 [IST]
Write Comments