India 'A' camp at NCA from Sunday ahead of NZ tour

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, September 1, 2012, 10:58 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

India 'A' camp at NCA from Sunday

Bangalore, Sept 1: India ‘A' team will begin preparations for this month's New Zealand tour at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) from Sunday (September 2).

India ‘A' will have an 11-day camp at NCA from September 2 to 12.

Tamil Nadu's left-handed opener Abhinav Mukund is the captain of the 15-man squad. Despite his poor form in the previous ‘A' tour to the Caribbean, Mukund was made the skipper.

Under-19 World Cup winning captain Unmukt Chand is also part of the tour. This will be his first opportunity with the ‘A' team.

Players will arrive in batches at the NCA on Saturday. However, Chand has been granted permission to join the camp on September 4.

The New Zealand tour begins on September 18, the same day when ICC World Twenty20 2012 commences in Sri Lanka.

‘A' tours have always been opportunities for several youngsters to prove their worth and win India cap. They also serve as a platform for discarded players to make a comeback. Mukund, who has already played Tests, will be eyeing re-entry to India squad through this tour.

Vinay Kumar, the right-arm paceman from Karnataka, is also in the squad. He was initially in the ODI squad for Sri Lanka tour recently but had to pull out due to hamstring injury. He is fully recovered.

Ambati Rayudu, who had a good season of Indian Premier League this year with Mumbai Indians, is also a part of the tour. Other promising players are Naman Ojha, Ashok Menaria, Mandeep Singh, and Anustup Majumdar.

Legspinner Rahul Sharma, who has played ODIs for India, has a chance to shine in New Zealand.

India ‘A' will play two first class games (four-day matches), three 50-over matches and one Twenty20.

India 'A' Squad: Abhinav Mukund (captain), Ashok Menaria, Naman Ojha (wicketkeeper), Mandeep Singh, Anustup Majumdar, Ambati Rayudu, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Akshay Darekar, Vinay Kumar, Shami Ahmed, Suryakumar Yadav, Jalaj Saxena, Rahul Sharma, Rituraj Singh, Jaydev Unadkat and Unmukt Chand.


Write Comments