India-NZ Test in Bangalore: Day 4 Highlights

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, September 3, 2012, 18:17 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore Test: Day 4 Highlights

Bangalore, Sep 3: Virat Kohli was again the star in a tricky chase as he led India to a 2-0 clean sweep over New Zealand in the second and final Test here on Monday.

India won by five wickets, chasing down 261. Kohli remained unbeaten on 51.

Here are the highlights of the fourth day's play

# With this win, India whitewashed New Zealand 2-0

# Today's chase is the fourth highest in India. All previous three also belonged to India. They are 387/4 Vs England in Chennai 2008; 276/5 vs West Indies in New Delhi 1987; 276/5 Vs West Indies in Delhi 2011

# India won the first Test in Hyderabad by an innings and 115 runs. Both Tests did not last till the fifth and final day

# The win here made MS Dhoni the most successful Indian captain at home. He has won 14 Tests on Indian soil. Mohammad Azharuddin had won 13. Sourav Ganguly won 10 while Sunil Gavaskar had seven. MAK Pataudi won six.

# Dhoni finished the match with a six over midwicket off Jeetan Patel

# Dhoni remained 48 not out

# Kohli and Dhoni had an unfinished partnership of 96 runs for the sixth wicket

# Kohli was 51 not out, his fifth Test fifty in 10th game. He has two hundreds

# Kohli had hit a century, 103 in the first innings

# Kohli was named Man-of-the-match

# R Ashwin took the Man-of-the-series award for 18 wickets in the series. He had 12 in the first Test

# This was second successive Man-of-the-series award in India. In three-match rubber against West Indies last year, he had 22 wickets

# In five Tests in India, Ashwin has 40 scalps. Between West Indies series and this one, he played three matches in Australia and was poor, taking nine wickets

# He has 49 dismissals to his name in eight Tests

# R Aswin (18) and Pragyan Ojha (13) took 31 wickets of the 40 in the series. Umesh Yadav had 5, Zaheer 3, and one was run out

# India's chase of 261 was the highest winning score at M Chinnaswamy Stadium. The previous best was also by India, 207/3 Vs Australia in October, 2010

# Suresh Raina was dismissed for 10-ball duck

# There was 58-minute delay due to rain

# Tea was taken during the rain break, from 1.55pm to 2.15pm

# Sachin Tendulkar was bowled for the third successive time in the series. He is now bowled 51 times in Tests. He was playing his 190th match

# Tendulkar is the third batsman to be dismissed bowled on 50 or more times. Rahul Dravid (55) and Allan Border (53) are above the Master Blaster

# Tendulkar has an aggregate of 1590 runs in the fourth innings of a Test. He now has the most runs in the fourth innings of a Test. He went past Rahul Dravid's 1575 runs

# Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir were involved in their 34th fifty plus partnership for the opening wicket

# Gordon Greenidge-Desmond Haynes (42) and Matthew Hayden-Justin Langer (38) have more fifty and above partnership for first wicket than Sehwag and Gambhir

# Zaheer Khan took his 100th wicket on home soil when he dismissed Jeetan Patel. He is the eighth Indian bowler to capture 100 plus wickets on home soil. Anil Kumble heads the list with 350, Harbhajan Singh (258), Kapil Dev (219), BS
Chandrasekhar (142), Bishan Singh Bedi (137), Javagal Srinath (108) and Vinoo Mankad (103)


Story first published:  Monday, September 3, 2012, 17:27 [IST]
Write Comments