Pujara to lead Rest of India in Irani Cup

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, September 10, 2012, 16:15 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pujara to lead Rest of India

Bangalore, Sep 10: Cheteshwar Pujara has been named captain of Rest of India for the Irani Cup 2012 tie against Ranji Trophy champions Rajasthan. However, the selectors, on Monday, did not pick Sachin Tendulkar, who has been out of form recently.

Pujara, who hit his maiden Test hundred against New Zealand in Hyderabad in the recently concluded series, will lead a 15-man side which has most of the players who have represented India.

Left-arm spinner Harmeet Singh, who impressed in India's Under-19 World Cup victory, is rewarded with a berth.

Irani Cup 2012 will be held in Bangalore from September 21 to 25. This will be the Indian domestic season's opener.

Meanwhile, India 'A' and India 'B' squads for the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy were also announced on Monday. It will be played in Rajkot from September 29 to October 2. Bengal, who won Vijay Hazare Trophy will be the third team in the competition. Previously, Challenger Trophy was contested between India Seniors, India 'A' and India 'B'. From this year, the all-India domestic 50-over competition champions will replace India Seniors.

Pujara will captain India 'B' while S Badrinath is to lead India 'A'. India Under-19 World Cup winner Baba Aparajith is in India 'B' team. Harmeet is also in the team.

Rest of India squad: Cheteshwar Pujara (captain), Murali Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, S Badrinath, Dinesh Karthik, Wriddhiman Saha, Yusuf Pathan, Pragyan Ojha, Parvinder Awana, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan, Stuart Binny, Abhinmanyu Mithun and Harmeet Singh.

For Challenger NKP Salve Challenger Trophy

India 'A': S Badrinath (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Robin Uthappa, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Ishant Sharma, Parvinder Awana, Abhimanyu Mithun, Pragyan Ojha, Iqbal Abdulla, Harshal Patel, Udit Birla.

India 'B': Cheteshwar Pujara (captain), M Vijay, S Aniruddha, Kedar Jadhav, Robin Bist, Stuart Binny, Ravindra Jadeja, Baba Aparajith, Praveen Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Munaf Patel, Harmeet Singh, Rohit Motwani, Sandeep Sharma.


Story first published:  Monday, September 10, 2012, 15:10 [IST]
Write Comments