Brian Lara to be inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

Posted by:
Updated: Friday, September 14, 2012, 12:52 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Brian Lara in ICC Hall of Fame

Bangalore, Sep 13: Former West Indies captain Brian Lara will be inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame on Friday, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced on Thursday.

Lara and England's woman cricketer Enid Bakewell will be formally inducted into the Hall of Fame at a ceremony in Colombo, ICC stated in a media release on Thursday.

Lara will join the 66 male members of the Hall of Fame while Bakewell becomes the third women to be inducted.

Lara and Bakewell will attend the LG ICC Awards on September 15 at Waters Edge, Colombo and will be inducted formally.

The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame was set up in 2009, the ICC's Centenary year.

ICC Cricket Hall of Fame - initial inductees (55):

Sydney Barnes, Bishan Bedi, Alec Bedser, Richie Benaud, Allan Border, Ian Botham, Geoffrey Boycott, Donald Bradman, Greg Chappell, Ian Chappell, Denis Compton, Colin Cowdrey, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Lance Gibbs, Graham Gooch, David Gower, WG Grace, Tom Graveney, Gordon Greenidge, Richard Hadlee, Walter Hammond, Neil Harvey, George Headley, Jack Hobbs, Michael Holding, Leonard Hutton, Rohan Kanhai, Imran Khan, Alan Knott, Jim Laker, Harold Larwood, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Clive Lloyd, Hanif Mohammad, Rodney Marsh, Malcolm Marshall, Peter May, Javed Miandad, Keith Miller, Bill O'Reilly, Graeme Pollock, Wilfred Rhodes, Barry Richards, Vivian Richards, Andy Roberts, Garfield Sobers, Brian Statham, Fred Trueman, Derek Underwood, Clyde Walcott, Everton Weekes, Frank Woolley, Frank Worrell.

2009 Inductees

Herbert Sutcliffe, Steve Waugh, Wasim Akram, Victor Trumper, Clarrie Grimmett.

2010 Inductees

Rachael Heyhoe Flint, Ken Barrington, Courtney Walsh, Joel Garner.

2011 Inductees

Belinda Clark, Frederick Spofforth, Curtly Ambrose, Alan Davidson.

2012 Inductees

Enid Bakewell and Brian Lara, with two further names to be announced later this year.


Read more about: brian lara, icc, west indies
Story first published:  Thursday, September 13, 2012, 12:42 [IST]
Write Comments