Dhoni named captain of ICC ODI team of year

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, September 15, 2012, 17:24 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dhoni is captain of ICC ODI team of year

Bangalore, Sep 15: India captain MS Dhoni has been chosen as the skipper of ICC ODI Team of the year, which was announced in Colombo on Friday evening. Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli are the two other Indians in the XI.

The team was chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend and former captain Clive Lloyd, an ICC media release said.

The announcement was made by the ICC's Chief Executive, David Richardson, at a special function ahead of the LG ICC Awards ceremony which is being held tomorrow night at the Waters Edge, Colombo. The LG ICC Awards recognise the best international players and officials of the past 12 months.

Six countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and just one player - Dhoni of India - five years in a row. The ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 winning captain keeps wicket and leads the side and is joined by fellow ICC ODI Team of the Year 2011 members Kumar Sangakkara and Lasith Malinga of Sri Lanka and Australia's Shane Watson.

Chairman of the LG ICC Awards selection panel, Lloyd said: "This team, along with the Test Team of the Year was extremely difficult to decide upon but we feel the side has strength to bat well down the order while also having a good variety for any type of conditions when it comes to its bowling attack.

"It's pleasing to include for the first time the likes of Virat Kohli of India, Saeed Ajmal of Pakistan and Steven Finn of England - none of whom have appeared in an ICC ODI Team of the Year before."

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson added: "I think we can safely say that this is one of the strongest ODI Team of the Year selections ever in the LG ICC Awards history.

"With six countries represented and a vast expanse of talent the team would be a challenge to beat for any number of opposition sides. All the members of the squad should be very proud of their selections, the panel had a tough task deciding the final 12 and it is a fantastic achievement to be included. "

Lloyd was joined on the panel by former England Women's captain Clare Connor, former Sri Lanka batsman Marvan Attapatu, former West Indies all-rounder Carl Hooper and Australia's former bowler Tom Moody. Statistics were available as a guide but were not necessarily the overwhelming factor in the choices made.

The ICC ODI Team of the Year was one of two teams selected by the ICC selection panel along with the Test line-up which was announced last month.

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order)

Gautam Gambhir (Ind)

Alastair Cook (Eng)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

Virat Kohli (Ind)

MS Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper/captain)

Michael Clarke (Aus)

Shahid Afridi (Pak)

Morne Morkel (SA)

Steven Finn (Eng)

Lasith Malinga (SL)

Saeed Ajmal (Pak)

12th Man - Shane Watson (Aus)


Story first published:  Saturday, September 15, 2012, 0:07 [IST]
Write Comments