England name Test squad; Pietersen ignored again

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, September 18, 2012, 16:30 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

No Pietersen for India tour

London, Sep 18: England and Wales Cricket Board continue to ignore Kevin Pietersen as he has not been picked for India tour, while Joe Root and Nick Compton have been included in the Test squad.

Following Kevin Pietersen's texts row, he was dropped from the squad for the third Test against South Africa, and was ignored for the T20 World Cup.

Though he apologized for his mistakes, he was ignored by the Board for the T20 World Cup and his hopes of making a comeback with India tour was also shattered as England Cricket Board left out Pietersen from England's Test squad.

While it is learnt that the cricketer has been in talks with the Board for a while now, though he has been roped in as a TV expert, for the World T20.

"Both ECB and England team management have had meetings with Kevin Pietersen to address the issues which led to his omission from the final Investec Test match against South Africa," managing director of England Cricket, Hugh Morris told cricinfo.

"These discussions remain private and confidential and as there are issues still to be resolved Kevin has not been considered for selection for the India tour," Morris added.

Moreover, issues aren't solved yet, as Pietersen was not given a central contract last week.

Now, England's batting order seems to be weak, in the absence of Pietersen and Andrew Strauss, who retired from international cricket recently.

Probably that could have prompted the Board to recall Morgan, who has got another opportunity to play for the national side after he was dropped from the Test side following a series against Pakistan in UAE.

With Root and Compton promising given their first-class records, could get a chance to play the Tests.

Interestingly, Ravi Bopara and James Taylor have been left out of the Test squad, who were a part of the squad against South Africa.

England to play 4 Tests, 2 T20Is and 5 ODIs against India starting from Nov 15, 2012 to Jan 27, 2013.


England: Alastair Cook (Captain) James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Nick Compton, Steven Finn, Graham Onions, Eoin Morgan, Monty Panesar, Samit Patel, Matt Prior, Joe Root, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott.


Story first published:  Tuesday, September 18, 2012, 16:05 [IST]
Write Comments