Sri Lanka 'chokers' in World Cup finals?

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, September 18, 2012, 11:33 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Having played three finals since the 1996 World Cup, Sri Lanka have not been victorious, as they have 'choked' in major finals.

Sri Lanka 'chokers' in World Cup finals?

Lanka had the privilege of playing three major finals in the span of 16 years, unfortunately haven't won the title after 1996 World Cup in the sub-continent.

While they could have easily dominated in two finals especially in the World Cup finals (2007 and 2011) as they definitely had a chance, but they let go the opportunities and had to be content with a runners-up tag.

But in reality, were termed as 'chokers' as they failed miserably in the finals.

All the three matches prove why Lankans are aptly named chokers

The first one, 2007 World Cup final against Australia in Barbados - the match was cut short by rain and was reduced to 38 overs a side.

Having won the toss, Australia chose to bat and posted a challenging 281/4 as Gilchrist played a magnificent innings 149 (104 balls) which put a lot of pressure on the Lankans.

Chasing a challenging total, Sanath Jayasuriya and Sangakkara gave Lanka a very good start despite losing an early wicket, but after the fall of Sangakkara (54), Lankan batting order collapsed and moreover since the match was interrupted by rain often, players choked and Australia emerged champions for the third consecutive time as they had won the 1999 and 2003 World Cup.

If that can be attributed to bad luck, the next one was a disaster, as Sri Lanka played magnificently throughout the T20 World Cup in 2009, to have reached the finals to face Pakistan at Bridgetown, Barbados.

After opting to bat first, it seemed like Lankans were on a parade, as everyone just came onto the field to disappear to the pavillion within minutes. Except Sangakkara and Mathews none of the players played with grit.

Having posted 138 off 20 overs, Lanka failed to restrict the sub-continent rivals as they reached the target within 18.4 overs, as Afridi (54*), Kamran Akmal (37) and Shoaib Malik (24*) played a vital role in helping Pakistan register a 8 wicket win.

While their third appearance in the final was quite heartening as everyone hoped for a win in the 2011 World Cup as they had posted a challenging 274/6 in 50 overs, but they missed out on a few occasions and had to be content with a runners-up tag, when they could have emerged as winners of the 2011 World Cup.

Lanka failed to restrict the Indians as they went on to score 277 for the loss of four wickets, with 10 balls to spare.

Since Sri Lanka is playing at home, can they avoid such mistakes and take advantage of home conditions and emulate 1996 World cup win.


Story first published:  Tuesday, September 18, 2012, 11:14 [IST]
Write Comments