WT20: Kiwis beat Bangla, start on a winning note

Posted by:
Updated: Friday, September 21, 2012, 18:42 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

WT20: New Zealand beat B'desh by 59 runs

Pallekele, Sep 21: Brendon McCullum's magnificent ton followed by Kyle Mills' superb bowling performance ensured New Zealand start their World T20 campaign on a winning note, as they defeated Bangladesh by 59 runs in the fifth match of the tournament at Pallekele on Friday.

Scorecard, Ball-by-ball

Highlights: World T20: New Zealand Vs Bangladesh

New Zealand thoroughly dominated as theyt were clinical in their approach especially while bowling as they picked up four wickets for 37 runs, to ensure a victory early in the innings.

Further Kyle Mills and Tim Southee's exploits ensured New Zealand an easy win as they picked 3 wickets each while Oram and Nathan McCullum managed to pick one each to restrict Bangladesh to 132/8 in 20 overs.

Bangladesh batsmen apart from Nasir Hossain (50)and Mohammad Ashraful (21), none of them stood at the wicket which ruined Bangladesh's chances, as they failed miserably.

If Brendon McCullum ruled the first innings, it was Nasir Hossain and Kyle Mills who shared the limelight in the second half of the innings.

Right from the beginning, it looked like it would be an easy win for New Zealand as Bangladesh batsmen walked all the way from the pavilion to return soon after facing a few deliveries.

Shakib al Hasan (11) Mushfiqur Rahim (4), Tamim Iqbal (0), Mahmudullah (15) failed miserably, as the top order collapsed early.

This in turn helped New Zealand as they weren't in great form coming in to play the first World T20 match, but Bangladesh made it look very simple, as they lost the battle before the fight actually began.

Except Nasir Hossain, none of the players showed maturity as Bangladesh needed a good partnership at one stage to take them forward, which could have lifted the morale of the team even if it did not help them win the match.

Now, with a win over Bangladesh, New Zealand play their next match against Pakistan on Sunday 23 September, which happens to be a crucial tie while Bangladesh face a must win situation when they take on the sub-continental rivals Pakistan on Sep 25, next Tuesday.

NZ Innings report: New Zealand's Brendon McCullum scored a magnificent ton to help his team post 191/3 in 20 overs, after being put into bat by Bangladesh in the fifth game of World T20 at Pallekele on Friday.

Brendon McCullum became the highest run-scorer in this edition of World T20 as he scored a magnificent century to guide his team post a challenging total.

With Franklin (35), McCullum (123) added 94 runs for the second wicket, as Guptill (11) was dismissed very early in the innings.

Though New Zealand have not been in great form off-late, as they had lost four of their last five T20 internationals, managed to post a decent total having asked to bat by the opposition.

McCullum was ecstatic as he scored his second ton in T20 Internationals, marking his maiden ton in World T20. He added 78 runs with Ross Taylor (14*) for the third wicket, as he became the highest run-scorer in T20 Internationals having scored 123 off 58 balls.

McCullum was dismissed by Razzak off the last ball of the innings, after he had scored a magnificent 123 which included 11 boundaries and 7 sixes.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, relying on their spinners, decided to field first, but that backfired as Brendon McCullum was on song at Pallekele as he registered his highest T20 International score.

With 192 to win, Bangladesh need some good partnership from the top order. Given their inexperience, New Zealand would like to take advantage of their weakness against pace, to rip through their batting order.

But with the likes of Tamim Iqbal, Shakib al Hasan, Ashraful, Rahim, the team's batting is quite good and can expect some fireworks from the lower middle-order as well.

Playing XIs

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (Captain), Martin Guptill, Rob Nicol, Brendon McCullum, Kane Williamson, James Franklin, Jacob Oram, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills, Tim Southee

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain, wicketkeeper), Mohammed Mahmudullah, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Elias Sunny, Abdur Razzak, Mashrafe Mortaza, Shafiul Islam

Umpires: Marais Erasmus (SA) and Nigel Llong (Eng)

Third Umpire: Bruce Oxenford (Aus)

Match Referee: Graeme La Brooy (SL)


Story first published:  Friday, September 21, 2012, 15:08 [IST]
Write Comments