Preview: Indian bowling needs to come good

Posted by:
Updated: Sunday, September 23, 2012, 12:49 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Preview: Focus on Indian bowling

Colombo, Sep 22: India and England have both secured Super Eight berths but that will not stop them from giving their best in Sunday's night clash in the ICC World Twenty20 2012.

R Premadasa Stadium will be the venue again for this Group A clash. England, fresh from handing a mauling to Afghanistan here, will be in a confident mood.

While India struggled to put it past the same opponents, the defending champions were ruthless in their approach. Luke Wright was the star with a breezy 99 not out on Friday night. Later, England bowlers blew Afghanistan away for 80.

India have a lot of problems to sort out before this tie. Their openers, Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir are not in the best of form. India bowlers are also not up to the mark. Pace spearhead Zaheer Khan has been unimpressive.

It is still not clear whether India will retain same combination or decide to strengthen their bowling.

Captain MS Dhoni has to think and act now as bigger challenges await them in the Super Eight. India will be in Group 2 of Super Eight along with South Africa (C2) who have already qualified. The other two teams are likely to be Australia (B1) and Pakistan (D1).

It should be an exciting contest in the 10th game of World T20.

A lot will depend on bowlers' form for India's positive result. Or else better to chase a target as they have the batting to scale down any score. But it could be easier said than done looking at the way how English bowlers demolished Afghanistan.


India: MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Ashok Dinda.

England: Stuart Broad (captain), Jonathan Bairstow, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Craig Kieswetter (wicketkeeper), Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright.

Umpires: Simon Taufel (Australia) and Aleem Dar (Pakistan)

Third umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)

Match starts at 7.30 PM IST. Also playing on Sunday, at 3.30 PM IST, Pakistan Vs New Zealand

Catch live ball by ball commentary, regular updates, reports, statistics on www.thatscricket.com


Story first published:  Saturday, September 22, 2012, 13:24 [IST]
Write Comments