Preview: West Indies in must-win situation

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, September 24, 2012, 17:30 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Preview: Do or die game for West Indies

Colombo, Sep 23: This is a knockout contest on Monday night. West Indies and Ireland face off with one of teams staying back to enter Super Eight and the other going home from ICC World Twenty20 2012.

A loss to Australia for West Indies on Saturday night has made this match interesting. Unlike other final Group games where Super Eight contestants were already decided, this one is a big one. Australia won by 17 runs via Duckworth-Lewis method after heavy rain curtailed their run chase.

On paper, West Indies are the hot favourites to clinch the game at R Premadasa Stadium. However, in a T20 challenge Ireland cannot be taken lightly.

West Indies entered the tournament as the title contenders. And just after one match they are fighting for survival. Still they have the players to take them through from Monday's game and all the way to the final on October 7.

Chris Gayle, yet again, displayed what damaged he can do to opposition bowlers. Australia were at the receiving end and Irish bowlers too will have to watch out for him.

From Group B, Australia have already made the Super Eights as the toppers. They have joined India and South Africa in Group 2. The other team set to join them is Pakistan.

The winners of today's game are drawn into Group 1 of Super Eight. The next stage matches start on September 27 in Pallekele.

West Indies will again rely on Gayle to give them a flying start. And Sunil Narine will be looking to bamboozle Irish batsmen.

O'Brien brothers, Kevin and Niall are crucial to Ireland's chances. Also young left-arm spinner George Dockrell has to come good.

Will Irish upset the big boys or will Gayle force sweep the minnows away?


West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Dwayne Bravo, Samuel Badree, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith.

Ireland: William Porterfield (captain), Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Trent Johnston, Nigel Jones, Ed Joyce, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien (wicketkeeper), Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Max Sorensen, Stuart Thompson, Andrew White, Gary Wilson.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) and Asad Rauf (Pakistan

Third umpire: Simon Taufel (Australia)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)

Match starts at 7.30 PM IST

Catch live ball by ball commentary, regular updates, reports, statistics on www.thatscricket.com


Story first published:  Sunday, September 23, 2012, 15:24 [IST]
Write Comments