Preview: Super Eight spot beckons Pakistan

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, September 25, 2012, 13:41 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Preview: Super 8 spot beckons Pakistan

Pallekele, Sep 24: Tuesday is the last day of league phase at the ICC World Twenty20 2012. Pakistan and Bangladesh face off with the former aiming to progress to Super Eight from Group D.

New Zealand have already made it to Super Eights from this group and Pakistan will be looking forward to win against their Asian rivals.

Pakistan, who won the trophy in 2009, are one of the favourites this time too. They possess a good set of players capable of securing them the title again.

Bangladesh, after their heavy loss to New Zealand, have very little chance of staying back in the tournament even if they upset Pakistan.

Bangladesh' net run rate is -2.950 while Pakistan's is +0.650. Bangladesh have very remote chance of edging Pakistan in the match and also on net run rate.

It is yet another opportunity lost for Bangladesh after having done so well at home in Asia Cup where they finished runners-up this year. They have never been impressive in global tournaments barring winning few matches.

Already the minnows Afghanistan have been eliminated and also Zimbabwe have made an exit. Among the weaker teams only Ireland, who play West Indies later today, and Bangladesh remain.

Pakistan should easily join arch rivals India, Australia and South Africa in Group 2 of Super Eight.


Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Imran Nazir, Nasir Jamshed, Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper), Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Asad Shafiq, Yasir Arafat, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Sami, Raza Hasan, Abdul Razaq

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain and wicketkeeper), Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza, Junaid Siddique, Elias Sunny, Abdur Razzak, Shafiul Islam, Abul Hasan, Farhad Reza, Jahurul Islam.

Umpires: Ian Gould (England) and Steve Davis (Australia)

Third umpire: Rod Tucker

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)

Match starts at 7.30 PM IST

Catch live ball by ball commentary, regular updates, reports, statistics on www.thatscricket.com


Story first published:  Monday, September 24, 2012, 15:21 [IST]
Write Comments