Pakistan crush Bangladesh to enter Super Eight

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, September 26, 2012, 10:28 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pakistan crush Bangladesh, enter Super 8

Pallekele, Sep 25: Pakistan crushed Bangladesh by eight wickets to ease into the Super Eight stage of ICC World Twenty20 2012 here on Tuesday night.


A target of 176 looked too small once opener Imran Nazir launched an attack on Bangladesh bowlers. His blitzkrieg of 36-ball 72 with nine fours and three sixes powered Pakistan to victory in 18.4 overs.

Bangladesh, who lost both their matches in Group D, crashed out of the tournament. Pakistan and New Zealand from this group moved ahead.

Pakistan will join India, Australia and South Africa in Group 2 of Super Eight. After a day's rest tomorrow, Super Eight games start on Thursday with Sri Lanka facing New Zealand and England locking horns with West Indies.

Bangladesh Innings Report

Shakib Al Hasan's 54-ball 84 helped Bangladesh to 175/6 in 20 overs. Bangladesh have to restrict Pakistan to 139 or less to progress to Super Eights.

Shakib's score is the highest by a Bangladesh batsman in T20Is. He was aggressive right from the start of his innings. The left-hander hit 11 sixes and two sixes. His knock has given Bangladesh a chance to upset Pakistan for the first time in this format.

Toss Report

Bangladesh have won the toss and chose to bat first against Pakistan. To reach the Super Eights, Bangladesh have to win by a margin of 36 or more runs. That will give them a better net run rate than Pakistan.

Bangladesh lost their first match to New Zealand while Pakistan beat the Kiwis. New Zealand have already made it to Super Eights. They are in Group 1 of Super Eight along with England, West Indies and Sri Lanka.

Group 2 will comprise of India, Australia, South Africa and either Pakistan or Bangladesh.

After a rest day on Wednesday, Super 8 stage will begin on Thursday with two matches scheduled.

Playing XIs

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Imran Nazir, Nasir Jamshed, Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper), Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Yasir Arafat, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain and wicketkeeper), Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Shafiul Islam, Abul Hasan.

Umpires: Ian Gould (England) and Steve Davis (Australia)

Third umpire: Rod Tucker

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)


Story first published:  Tuesday, September 25, 2012, 18:48 [IST]
Write Comments