Flashback: India-Australia World T20 games

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, September 27, 2012, 12:40 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

India and Australia have met twice before in ICC World Twenty20 tournaments. The head-to-head record stands at 1-1. Friday will mark the third meeting between these top sides and who will triumph?

Flashback: India-Aus World T20 games

In the inaugural championship in South Africa, India and Australia faced off in the semi-finals. Most of the experts went with Australia as the favourites. But the result came down in India's favour with Yuvraj Singh smashing a 30-ball 70 with five fours and five sixes.

On that night in Kingsmead, Durban (September 22, 2007), Yuvraj was in full flow. The left-hander did not spare any Aussie bowler. He scored his runs at a strike rate of 233.33.

Again Yuvraj will walk out to bat against Australians on Friday at R Premadasa Stadium, this time in the Super Eight stage of ICC World Twenty20 2012.

From 2007 clash, Michael Hussey is the only survivor of that Australian side. However, for India there are as many as seven players who featured in that game and are also in Sri Lanka now.

In that game, as he is today, MS Dhoni was the captain. Harbhajan Singh, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma and Irfan Pathan played.

After posting 188/5 in 20 overs, Australia were kept to 173/7 in their allotted overs. S Sreesanth, Irfan Pathan and Joginder Sharma took two wickets apiece to take India to final. And in the title clash, India beat Pakistan by five runs to take the trophy in Johannesburg.

In the second edition of World T20 in 2009 in England, Australia were knocked out in the group stages and did not meet India.

When the tournament went to the Caribbean in 2010, India and Australia locked horns in the Super Eight phase.

It was not a day to remember for India at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown (Barbados) on May 7.

David Warner and Shane Watson struck half centuries and associated for 104 runs in 10.5 overs for the first wicket. The Ws set the tone for a big total.

Warner made 72 off 42 balls with seven sixes and two fours. Watson's 32-ball 54 contained six sixes and one boundary. Australia piled up 184/5 in 20 overs.

When India came out to bat, their batsmen were bounced out by Australian pacemen. Dirk Nannes, Shaun Tait and Mitchell Johnson were too hot to handle. India folded for 135 in 17.4 overs.

Rohit fought a lone battle with 79 not out. The next best was from Harbhajan with 13. Nine of India's batsmen failed to reach double-digit scores. Nannes and Tait shared six wickets between them (three apiece).

Pat Cummins has already stated that they would target India with short-pitched deliveries on Friday. Will Indian batsmen stand to to them or do we see another meek performance?

But Australia will have to be wary of Indian spin attack. If the Aussies posses speed, India have spin.

It should be an interesting battle on Friday night.

Will Ws and pacemen rattle India or will the Aussies be caught in a spin?


Story first published:  Thursday, September 27, 2012, 12:36 [IST]
Write Comments