Sandeep Patil named chairman of selection panel

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, September 27, 2012, 17:57 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Patil is chairman of selection panel

Mumbai, Sep 27: Former India batsman and 1983 World Cup winner Sandeep Patil will take over from Kris Srikkanth as the chairman of BCCI's senior selection committee, it was decided at the Indian board's AGM here on Thursday.

Profiles of selectors

Another big development in the committee is the removal of Mohinder Amarnath. The new committee's remuneration has been raised from Rs 40 lakh per year to Rs 60 lakh.

Former India all-rounder and 1983 World Cup winner Roger Binny was earlier tipped to be the chairman but BCCI surprised one and all by appointing Patil. However, Binny is also part of the five-member group as he will represent South Zone, replacing Srikkanth.

Vikram Rathore (North Zone), Saba Karim (East Zone), Rajinder Singh Hans (Central Zone) are the other three in the panel.

The outgoing members with Srikkanth and Amarnath, are Raja Venkat (East), Suredra Bhave (West) and Narendra Hirwani (Central).

Patil has coached India, Kenya and Oman earlier. He is currently the director of National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bangalore.


Story first published:  Thursday, September 27, 2012, 15:33 [IST]
Write Comments