World T20: Match tied; Lanka win Super Over

Posted by:
Updated: Friday, September 28, 2012, 11:41 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pallekele, Sep 27: Sri Lanka win super over, after the match was tied as both teams scored 174 at the end of 20 overs, which was a first of it's kind in World T20 2012, during the Super Eights clash at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium on Thursday.

WT20: Match tied; Lanka win Super Over

Scorecard, Ball-by-ball

Highlights: World T20: Sri Lanka Vs New Zealand

Thriller of a contest, as the first Super Eights clash between Sri Lanka and New Zealand was tied as both the teams scored 174 at the end of 20 overs, which led to an exciting finish as there is a Super Over to decide the winners of the clash.

With one to win off the last ball, as Lahiru Thirimanne ran himself out while attempting for a single, as Southee failed to collect the ball but it deflected into the stumps to be declared out, which also gave a dramatic finish to the game, as a Super Over had to be bowled to decide the winner of the match.

Jayawardene and Perera walked out as they scored 6/0 off the first three balls off Southee, while the next one was a wide as Perera got a single as well, as Jayawardene was dismissed off the fourth ball as he was miles away when McCullum dislodged the stumps.

A single and three runs off the fifth and sixth ball respectively to finish with 13/1 off the Super Over.

Needed 14 to win, New Zeland's Martin Guptill faced Malinga in the Super Over; took two runs and a single off the first two balls to give Brendon McCullum the strike, as he took two runs after Sangakkara failed to collect the ball, score 5/0 off 3 balls.

The next ball was a wide ball as Guptill hit that which was put down by Sangakkara, which yielded a run, followed by Guptill's wicket off the fifth ball, as Dilshan took an amazing catch under pressure as NZ required 8 runs off the last ball.

6/1 off 5 balls, as Malinga conceded 2 runs off the last ball to win the match in the one over eliminator.

Sangakkara messed it up in the Super Over, as he failed to collect the ball twice.

Earlier Tillakaratne Dilshan's 76 off 53 balls helped Sri Lanka to score 174/5 off 20 overs, which included 5 boundaries and 3 sixes. Sri Lanka was on a roll as they chased such a big target for the first time at home, though it was tied, the win off a one-over eliminator would keep their confidence high.

With Jayawardene (44), Sangakkara (21), Ajantha Mendis (8) all contributing very well, Malinga finally won it for Sri Lanka, conceding just 8 runs when NZ required 14 to win.

NZ Innings Report: Riding high on Rob Nicol and Martin Guptill's knock, New Zealand posted a challenging 174/7 against Sri Lanka while the hosts disappointed on the field as only debutant Akila Dananjaya impressed claiming two wickets on debut for Sri Lanka in the Super Eights clash at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium on Thursday.

Akila Dananjaya finished with 2/32 off his 4 overs, as he is placed third in the list of bowling figures on debut after Muralitharan (2/27) and Ajantha Mendis (4/15).

New Zealand's Rob Nicol stole the show as he scored 58 off 40 balls which included 3 boundaries and 4 sixes.

Sri Lanka, having conceded 43 runs in the first 6 overs, looked tensed and sloppy on field as Dananjaya was the only one who impressed everyone on the field.

New Zeland's batting was quite good on Thursday as the top order contributed well, with Mark Guptill (38), Brendon McCullum (25) and Ross Taylor (23) playing well to guide NZ to 174/7

Chasing 175 to win, hosts would rely more on the opening partnership as they need some good partnership at the start of the innings, in order to seal a win and keep their semifinal hopes alive.

Moreover, stats are against the hosts, as they have not won a match chasing at home and given their struggle under pressure, it all depends on the opening stand.

Playing XIs

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Akila Dananjaya, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Jeewan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne.

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (Captain), Martin Guptill, Rob Nicol, Brendon McCullum, Kane Williamson, James Franklin, Jacob Oram, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills, Tim Southee

Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan) and Simon Taufel (Australia)

Third umpire: Steve Davis (Australia)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (India)


Story first published:  Thursday, September 27, 2012, 15:04 [IST]
Write Comments