Watson dazzles as Australia demolish India

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, September 29, 2012, 12:19 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australia demolish listless India

Colombo, Sep 28: Australia demolished India by nine wickets and 31 balls to spare in their Super Eights game at the ICC World Twenty20 2012 here on Friday night at the R Premadasa Stadium. Shane Watson's dazzling all-round display handed India a humiliating defeat. He won his third successive Man-of-the-match award in the tournament.


Watson (3/34, 42-ball 72 with seven sixes and two fours) and David Warner (41-ball 63 not out with seven fours and three sixes) thrashed Indian bowlers to all parts of the ground. Watson was the chief destroyer as Australia chased down 141 in 14.5 overs for the loss of one wicket.

Indian bowlers dished out too many short balls which were duly dispatched into the stands by Watson. None of the bowlers were spared. As many as eight bowlers were used by captain MS Dhoni and in the end it was the part-time spin of Yurvraj that got him a wicket. By the time Watson was dismissed, Australia were just eight short of victory.

Watson and Warner played shots at will and put on 133 runs for the first wicket in 13.3 overs. R Ashwin, who opened the bowling, went for 0/32 in 3.5 overs. Harbhajan Singh gave 20 in his two while Piyush Chawla was taken off the attack after just one over where he was hit for 14. Irfan Pathan too bowled just one over, which cost 19 runs.

When Australia's chase started, rain halted play briefly after three just three balls. After resumption, Indian bowlers found it tough to grip the ball.

This heavy loss has sent India to the bottom of Group 2 in the Super Eight. Their net run rate is the worst with -2.506. India next face arch rivals Pakistan on Sunday at 7.30 PM IST.

India Innings Report

Shane Watson took three wickets as Australia kept Virender Sehwag-less India to 140/7 in 20 overs in their Group 2 Super Eight game at the ICC World Twenty20 2012 here on Friday night.

Australian fast bowlers put in a disciplined effort and never allowed Indian batsmen to score freely. India opened with Irfan Pathan and Gautam Gambhir but the former was not impressive as he struggled for big hits. India kept losing wickets at regular intervals and on a day when they were a batsman short, the runs dried up.

Toss Report

The big news from R Premadasa Stadium is Virender Sehwag is not playing. As expected India have not picked their opening batsman for today's Super Eight game against Australia in the ICC World Twenty20 2012.

Captain MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat first. India have gone in with three spinners, Harbhajan Singh, R Ashwin and Piyush Chawla. From the last game against England, they made two changes, Lakshmipathy Balaji and Ashok Dinda are out and Zaheer Khan and Ashwin are playing.

Australia have retained same XI from last game.

Playing XIs

India: MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh.

Australia: George Bailey (captain), Dan Christian, Pat Cummins, Brad Hogg, Michael Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) and Richard Kettleborough (England)

Third umpire: Ian Gould (England)

Fourth umpire: Rod Tucker (Australia)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)

Match starts at 7.30 PM IST


Story first published:  Friday, September 28, 2012, 18:22 [IST]
Write Comments